Lunch Box Hot Hot Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
My mom had a twist on this- she would pack the hot dog in boiling-hot chicken noodle soup! Worked a treat, and on a cold winter school day, it was a joy to find in my lunch box. Thanks, Lorrie, for the reminder- my kids will appreciate this! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leopardstripes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Blaine, Washington, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Works great- I used this for a school picnic where I took lunch for my family. Bag of buns, condiments, thermos and picnic-to-go w/ little clean up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
what a great idea! and i don't even have kids in school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Great idea. When my son was little I used to put hot tomato soup in his thermos with a hot dog stuck into it. He ate the dog and drank his soup. Try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I did this years ago when I packed my husband's lunch. To switch it up, I would make chili sauce and put it in the thermos and put the hot dogs in the chili to stay hot. I would send him small containers of cheese and onions to top the chili dog. He loved his chili dog lunch and his co-workers were jealous! I did this before microwaves were popular. (for the person who said hot dogs are bad for you, what isn't?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Great idea. I am a 79 year senior and when I go out for the day shopping I take a Dietz & Watson smoked hot sausage this way. It is the same size as a hot dog. Beats going to a fast food place. Charlie b
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
To all of those who responded with "are you kidding me... horrible food choice... blah blah blah". Yes, you are correct, hot dogs are not the most nutritious but on occasion, it can't hurt and you can certainly substitute all kinds of pseudo dogs. I just have to say I love the creative way to do this! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
GREAT idea! I have been making my kid's lunch's almost daily for 6 years now and have never thought of this! Thanks for sharing your tip! I know what my kid's are getting on Monday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I have been doing this for my kids for some time now and they just LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VRCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
My daughter is off to Kindergarten this year. And was trying to think of diff ideas for her lunch so she would not be bored. So we did a test run because I was concerned with her dumping hot water on herself...So I boiled some water and filled the thermos - let it sit for about 20 min with a dog (from fridge not frozen)- dumped out the hot water and wrapped dog in foil and put it back in the preheated thermos - made up her lunchbox as normal and 4 hrs later at lunchtime she sat at the table and went to town. Dog was warm and she thought it was so cool! And dont fret over ur kids eating a hot dog and it not being healthy... Trader Joe's makes Chick/Beef/Turkey dogs with no nitrates! Super low in cals - so u can feel good about switching it up! Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovetocook

Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States