Lumpia (Shanghai version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
It's a good base recipe but I agree with kiko150, insanely salty. :/ I realized as I was pouring in the soy sauce that, in addition to the table salt it already asked for, something just wasn't right... and sure enough on my first test try egg roll it was super salty. Good thing I had only put maybe half the soy sauce and salt at this point, and managed to salvage it by adding another cup of carrots, but it's still a bit salty for my tastes. In my opinion if you can't eat them by themselves it's no good; I couldn't eat them without rice and drenched in sweet chili sauce. I suggest omitting the table salt completely and just do soy sauce? Whatever less than a 1/4th but more than 1/8th a cup is lol. But as I said it's a good base recipe :) I only had two pounds of pork but it still came out delicious, will definitely try half and half next time. Oh I also added finely minced green onions, maybe three or four sprigs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Need to let the marinate the meat for 1 day to get the flavour on the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This is a good recipe. But I cook mine in the oven due to diet restrictions and they are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Recipe is great. TIP: before rolling the lumpia fry up a quarter size of your meat mixture to taste seasoning level. Adjust if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I have made these many times but I knew the salt ingredient was an error. I also love making them using shrimp instead of meat and dipping them in Asian sweet chili sauce. The problem is you want to fry them and eat them right away. Can't make them fast enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Very Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena Schallhorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mary Esther, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I made this last friday,and turns good.but i only used 1 teaspoon of salt and i put celery as optional.Now my boss asking me for more
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ina Roi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
made these today they were a hit, I couldn't find spring roll wrappers so I also had to use egg roll wrappers, made 32 and had lots of filling left over, went to rest for a few came back upstairs and all but two were gone. so I guess they were a hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This is my favourite type of lumpia and I'm glad that I can make it now for my own family. Knowing that there is soy sauce in the meat mixture, I omitted the salt. I only used about a TB of soy sauce, which was a teeny bit bland, so next time I will use TB. I also used green onion, sliced very thin. As for wrapping the lumpia, I actually used another technique from another recipe on here, where you spread a thin line across a WHOLE wrapper sheet, roll it up, seal the edge, then cut it into thirds (or halves if you prefer larger lumpia). I find that this enable the meat to cook all the way through as the ends are open, and not sealed :) It also makes for cute finger food for parties :) Overall, great recipe! Next time, I'll play with the recipe and try it with shrimp :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorie C. Harding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This reminded me of my aunts lumpias growing up! I did add chopped water chestnuts, green onions, lots of garlic, rice wine vinegar & omitted the white onions. Really great and everybody loved them... All 50 we gone in the matter of minutes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Souza'sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Filipino Lumpia

Like Filipino egg rolls, they're stuffed with tasty pork and cabbage and fried.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States