Lucky's Quickie Chickie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
Simple yet delicious for so few ingredients. I added a bit of butter in with the olive oil. Nice way to make use of my abundance of fresh basil this year. I doubled the sauce but I'd even triple it. It was so delicious, and there would be more for potatoes and rice without skimping. Thanks for the great recipe, Lucky Noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
OMG this recipe is so good! I was hesitant to try it with such simple ingredients but boy was I suprised. The chicken looks and tastes like you have been marinating it all day. Quick cooking time ensures a juicy tender result. The pairing of balsalmic vinegar and honey is magic and the basil is the perfect touch. Thank you Lucky for a truly magnificent recipe. I also seared them in a combination of butter and extra virgin olive oil. I love the color browning in butter gives the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy Kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Newark, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
The first time, I followed the recipe without any kind of alteration. Whereas we liked it OK, we felt there was room for improvement. First, there was not enough sauce to suit my husband. I started by sautéing a couple of cloves of finely minced garlic after cooking the chicken (removed chicken to a plate and kept warm while making the sauce.) I then reduced 1/4 cup dry white wine by half, and added 2 Tb of chicken stock, along with the doubled balsamic and honey. This rounded out the flavor perfectly to suit our palates. Simmered the sauce for a few minutes until it started to get a little syrupy. Added the chicken back in and folded it gently into the sauce for 2 minutes to rewarm the meat. Sprinkled liberally with a chiffonnade of fresh basil at the last minute. Served it over rice cooked in chicken stock and it was a fabulous summer dinner. Although those steps added to the prep time, it was still pretty quick to throw together. The flavor advancement made the few extra minutes seem like a good trade-off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
EXCELLENT! This recipe came together so quickly and was so super yummy that I know I will be making it again and again. I used chicken breasts which I cut into medallions because that is what I had on hand. The only thing different I will do next time is to pound them thin so they will be more tender and soak up more of that delicious sauce. Oh yes, and definitely make extra sauce. It is soo good! Thank you Lucky Noodles for sharing such an EXCELLENT recipe!! I only wish I had tried it sooner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
There are quite a few recipes like this circulating the web but this one was less complicated, involving less steps. Man, was it good. I seasoned the chicken with some garlic salt as well as the salt and pepper and cooked it in a combination of olive oil and butter for a little extra flavor. One and a half teaspoons each of honey and balsamic vinegar seemed a little skimpy, so I increased that to one tablespoon each and it was just the right amount. I combined the two before I added it to the chicken and it blended in easily. I try to limit my carbs, so I served this with fresh green beans and sliced tomatoes but frankly, this would have been even better with some hot cooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I used Costco's organic chicken breasts sliced horizontally, and I always put a little butter in with the olive oil to brown just because I love the color so much. Instead of just salt and pepper, I seasoned with Papa's Seasoning from this site, but otherwise I followed the directions. This really fit the bill for tonight's dinner, and it was just as advertised---quick and delicious! Thank you so very much, Lucky Noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
So good. And different. At my age of sixty and some, you start to appreciate different:) Thank you, Lucky Noodles, this will be added to our recipes for chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOAN
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Seeing Cathy Myers post made me realize that I never rated this- although we tried it a month ago! It is so fresh and tasty- my whole family loved it. I will take the suggestions and definitely make more sauce!! Thanks for sharing a nice, healthy and easy to make dish:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ohiocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Dear friends, please try Lucky's recipe. It is delicious! Yes, quick and oh so tasty, definitely weeknight and company worthy! I tripled the sauce so that we would have plenty to spoon over a favorite pasta, grain and legume medley that we enjoy from World Market. I also added 6 ounces of sliced crimini mushrooms to the chicken while sauteeing. Fantastic summer meal too! Thank you, Lucky Noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Loooooooved it! Couldn't wait until our basil was ready for the picking so that I could make this recipe. It was worth the wait! I had 4 boneless chicken breast that I cut in strips and tripled the sauce due to the amount of chicken I was using. This really is a very quick and easy main dish to pull together. We had 'My Potatoes' from AR and bruschetta using fresh basil, diced tomatoes, green onions and olive oil on toasted hot dog buns with the chicken. Thanks, Lucky for sharing this recipe. It really does make for a fabulous, quickie, meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Quick and Easy Chicken

This tangy chicken dish is ready in about 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States