Lucky Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Loved it! I omitted the dry mustard, curry powder and sugar, then added chicken Better Than Bouillon with the water and a one can of hominy. Green chiles would be a good addition too. Husband especially liked it with the melted cheddar and bacon on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
We love this soup without any alterations to the recipe. It has a definite chili taste to it, but without all the calories chili has. It could definitely be spiced up if you like more heat, but it had just the right kick for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I made this soup for New Years Day this year. It was the most amazing soup I have ever tasted. I can't wait for the weather to cool down to make it again!! I may not be able to wait :) I didn't change a thing in the recipe and it was perfect!! Big thumbs up from me and my family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
While on vacation, was searching for our New Year's Black Eye Pea recipe, and found it almost exactly as a soup! In my original recipe, I drain the Black Eyed peas, use 2 cans of rotel tomatoes (which are smaller cans, and smaller pieces of tomato) and no added water. My original recipe does not call for sugar either, but does suggest garnishing with the crumbled bacon and parsley. As a side dish, this has become a staple in my family for the past 15 years. I printed the recipe, taped it onto a can of Black Eyed peas and attached a pre-measured bag of the dry spices as a Christmas gift for my college age nieces & nephews one year since they all ask for it when they visit. It is a very pretty, colorful dish as well. I may even try it as soup some time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Followed recipe as written, came out tasty enough. Didn't seem quite as substantial as I was hoping for, so I threw in a can of kidney beans and improved it a bit. I might try it again sometime and add in some pork sausage or maybe ham hocks. Overall - good enough for me, and I would recommend giving it a try. Thanks for sharing Steffanie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This soup was a real hit with my husband & I. As he said, "I wasn't expecting much," I guess b/c it looked SO healthy and just like a thin soup, but it was delicious!! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This wasn't anything special. It was VERY tomatoey, which I wasn't a huge fan of. It was a good way to use up black eyed peas, but I wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This turned out way better than I expected. I added tomato juice and chicken broth for more broth. I also used shredded chicken instead of bacon and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Great! I made it with a 1 pound bag of frozen peas and 2 cups of water. I also added 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon and simmered for about 2 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Didn't have bacon, used ham pureed the onions and pepers before cooking. Used less water to make really thick and put over rice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States