Lucky Pea Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This is good!!! I was unsure of this combo of seasoning but we all loved it. Not spicy hot...just good. It doesn't taste like curry...it's just the combination that makes it good. I didn't even have bacon but I'll bet that makes it even better. We did sprinkle some sharp cheddar on top. Bet it would be good with cilantro sprinkled on top too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This is a terrific cold weather soup. I substituted vegetable broth for the water and used canned black-eyed peas with bacon. If you like it a bit thicker, puree one of the cans of beans with a hand blender before adding. Terrific with cornbread and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I'm sorry that I can only give this 3 stars. It just wasn't what I expected from a pea soup. The tomoto and the spices overpowered the flavor of the peas and the bacon. Not to mention that once my boyfriend dropped the left overs on the floor, we both decided it wasn't so "lucky!" :) I wouldn't make it again. I'm sure there must be a better recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This was delicious! I had only red curry powder and it added a real zip to the recipe. I threw in some leftover ham just to use it up. This is a cold-weather keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
This soup was very good. The bacon, cheese, and green onions make the soup. The only change I would make is to use petite diced tomatoes or crushed. The tomato chunks were a little too big for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Inglis, Florida, USA
Living In: Islamorada, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Didn't have bacon, used ham pureed the onions and pepers before cooking. Used less water to make really thick and put over rice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Great! I made it with a 1 pound bag of frozen peas and 2 cups of water. I also added 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon and simmered for about 2 1/2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This turned out way better than I expected. I added tomato juice and chicken broth for more broth. I also used shredded chicken instead of bacon and it turned out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
This wasn't anything special. It was VERY tomatoey, which I wasn't a huge fan of. It was a good way to use up black eyed peas, but I wont make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This soup was a real hit with my husband & I. As he said, "I wasn't expecting much," I guess b/c it looked SO healthy and just like a thin soup, but it was delicious!! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States