Lucky New Year's Black-Eyed Pea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made this stew according to the recipe. The only change I made was using canned black-eyed peas, rather than frozen ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriston Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Seeing "lucky" in the recipe's name attracted me. I made this stew on New Year's Day and it was a hit! I used the bones from a honey baked ham and upped the Cajun seasonings...the sweet and spicy flavors worked beautifully together. I served it with brown rice, to keep a resolution. Very good! Thank you for a lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I'm not a huge fan of the taste of ham hocks. Although I did use them in the recipe. I did not cut them up and put in the stew, I added cubed ham chunks instead. I love spicy food, but thought the 1teas of cayenne this recipe called for was a bit much and over powered the other flavors. I added fresh garlic as well. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Spates

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I'm giving it a 5 because it was so easy and everyone in my home loved it. What a simple way to incorporate all New Years food. I don't even like cabbage but this was delcious..I barely tasted it. I used 1 lb. boneless ham steak (cubed)and canned beans. I recommend doubling the ham..I did the second time and enjoyed this recipe so much more. Here in Texas we LOVE spicy food...you can kick it up a notch if you'd like to with a little extra cayenne. Husband loves this recipe...great MAN food and heats up very well. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Garcia Glass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
YUM! Made this on Jan 1st and it was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was a pretty good combined dish. It was hearty and comforting, but I didn't particularly like the cabbage in with the peas, it lost all of it's flavor. I would make this again on a cold winter day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
What happened to the Water Chestnuts that were listed in the ingredients but not mentioned in the instructions?? Did anyone add them? I haven't made this yet but guess I will leave them out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Good stuff! Add some extra ham as the ham hocks are mostly for flavoring and not much meat. With the kids eating it I know it will bring us luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbaleelou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Well, this rating is a compromise between my husband and I. He gives the recipe 4.5 stars and I would give it a 2.5 at best. For me, this is just so boring. Made exactly as written for the second year in a row and it's still a snoozer. Very bland. On a positive note, it tastes very healthy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was great! Made it Jan 1st along with Black Eyed Pea Gumbo (which was very bland) and this was really good. I used regular cabbage instead of Napa which was great and I am not a big cabbage eater. Used cubed ham and didn't have Cajun seasoning so I added some chili powder, onion and garlic powder, cayenne, salt, pepper, basil and oregano instead. I didn't serve over rice but that would be good! We loved the flavor. Oh...and I left out the Water Chestnuts. Didn't have them, but didn't think they would have gone well in this dish anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States