Lucky New Year's Black-Eyed Pea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I almost didn't look twice at this recipe after reading a one-star review. But then I realized that the chicken stock in my pantry is made only from FORWARD-SCRATCHING CHICKENS. Now I can make this recipe without causing regret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Seeing "lucky" in the recipe's name attracted me. I made this stew on New Year's Day and it was a hit! I used the bones from a honey baked ham and upped the Cajun seasonings...the sweet and spicy flavors worked beautifully together. I served it with brown rice, to keep a resolution. Very good! Thank you for a lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I'm not a huge fan of the taste of ham hocks. Although I did use them in the recipe. I did not cut them up and put in the stew, I added cubed ham chunks instead. I love spicy food, but thought the 1teas of cayenne this recipe called for was a bit much and over powered the other flavors. I added fresh garlic as well. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Spates

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was great! Made it Jan 1st along with Black Eyed Pea Gumbo (which was very bland) and this was really good. I used regular cabbage instead of Napa which was great and I am not a big cabbage eater. Used cubed ham and didn't have Cajun seasoning so I added some chili powder, onion and garlic powder, cayenne, salt, pepper, basil and oregano instead. I didn't serve over rice but that would be good! We loved the flavor. Oh...and I left out the Water Chestnuts. Didn't have them, but didn't think they would have gone well in this dish anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made this stew according to the recipe. The only change I made was using canned black-eyed peas, rather than frozen ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriston Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
What happened to the Water Chestnuts that were listed in the ingredients but not mentioned in the instructions?? Did anyone add them? I haven't made this yet but guess I will leave them out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I'm giving it a 5 because it was so easy and everyone in my home loved it. What a simple way to incorporate all New Years food. I don't even like cabbage but this was delcious..I barely tasted it. I used 1 lb. boneless ham steak (cubed)and canned beans. I recommend doubling the ham..I did the second time and enjoyed this recipe so much more. Here in Texas we LOVE spicy food...you can kick it up a notch if you'd like to with a little extra cayenne. Husband loves this recipe...great MAN food and heats up very well. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Garcia Glass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I thought this was very good and the whole family approved. I added more Cajun seasoning~ for extra kick and used bacon instead of ham hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mishab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We really enjoyed this. I made it in the crockpot so we could leave for the day. Sauteed onions first obviously. We used chorizo instead of ham and used more cabbage. Forgot to make rice and liked it soupy. Did serve with quinoa second time around. Was also able to freeze what was left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Zesty! Made this on New Years Day for luck (so far so good). I used regular cabbage because my store didn't have Napa, I eliminated the water chestnuts because they weren't in the directions, I used ham steak as other recommended and cut it up (don't know if they used the ham hocks also, but I didn't!), used canned black-eyed peas, and served it with Quinoa! I only made the changes because it's what I had and it was still great. I will definitely make it throughout the year as well as on New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States