Lucky New Year's Black-Eyed Pea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made this stew according to the recipe. The only change I made was using canned black-eyed peas, rather than frozen ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTON SCOTT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Seeing "lucky" in the recipe's name attracted me. I made this stew on New Year's Day and it was a hit! I used the bones from a honey baked ham and upped the Cajun seasonings...the sweet and spicy flavors worked beautifully together. I served it with brown rice, to keep a resolution. Very good! Thank you for a lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I'm not a huge fan of the taste of ham hocks. Although I did use them in the recipe. I did not cut them up and put in the stew, I added cubed ham chunks instead. I love spicy food, but thought the 1teas of cayenne this recipe called for was a bit much and over powered the other flavors. I added fresh garlic as well. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Spates

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Living In: Fernley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I'm giving it a 5 because it was so easy and everyone in my home loved it. What a simple way to incorporate all New Years food. I don't even like cabbage but this was delcious..I barely tasted it. I used 1 lb. boneless ham steak (cubed)and canned beans. I recommend doubling the ham..I did the second time and enjoyed this recipe so much more. Here in Texas we LOVE spicy food...you can kick it up a notch if you'd like to with a little extra cayenne. Husband loves this recipe...great MAN food and heats up very well. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houstongal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
YUM! Made this on Jan 1st and it was so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was a pretty good combined dish. It was hearty and comforting, but I didn't particularly like the cabbage in with the peas, it lost all of it's flavor. I would make this again on a cold winter day though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
What happened to the Water Chestnuts that were listed in the ingredients but not mentioned in the instructions?? Did anyone add them? I haven't made this yet but guess I will leave them out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Good stuff! Add some extra ham as the ham hocks are mostly for flavoring and not much meat. With the kids eating it I know it will bring us luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbaleelou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Well, this rating is a compromise between my husband and I. He gives the recipe 4.5 stars and I would give it a 2.5 at best. For me, this is just so boring. Made exactly as written for the second year in a row and it's still a snoozer. Very bland. On a positive note, it tastes very healthy and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was great! Made it Jan 1st along with Black Eyed Pea Gumbo (which was very bland) and this was really good. I used regular cabbage instead of Napa which was great and I am not a big cabbage eater. Used cubed ham and didn't have Cajun seasoning so I added some chili powder, onion and garlic powder, cayenne, salt, pepper, basil and oregano instead. I didn't serve over rice but that would be good! We loved the flavor. Oh...and I left out the Water Chestnuts. Didn't have them, but didn't think they would have gone well in this dish anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Split Pea Soup with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, savory, and budget-friendly split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States