Lucky New Year's Black-Eyed Pea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made this for New Years and everyone loved it. I used the ham bone from our Christmas ham which still had a lot of meat on it. I didn't have any Cajun seasoning so used about 2 tsp. of Frank's Red Hot sauce which gave it a great flavor. I also added a bit of bacon grease to sauté the onion and cabbage and give it that bacon smoky flavor. Instead of rice I used some wide egg noodles added at the end of the cooking time and I served the stew with cornbread. I'm not giving 5 stars for my changes but because this is a great recipe that you can add to or take away whatever you like. This recipe is so much easier and more convenient than cooking everything separately. Such a delicious recipe that's a great start to the New Year! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I added more seasoning but really loved it! Liked the crunchy water chestnuts in it! Will make this again before next New Years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
3 stars as written. Needs more depth of flavor- add carrots and celery with onions, add additional ham. 1/2 the rice or will be too thick. Will make again with these changes (we need all the new year good luck we can get :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I loved this recipe. I haven't had this since my mom passed away. I did omit the chestnuts, but it was still fabulous. Also great with a can of diced tomatoes added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Amazing! Made this for New Years Eve party...it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Norma
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I would use Canadian instead of Ham Hock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Loved having cabbage in this old classic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRVGRL
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
As for the water chesnuts, I haven't added them in years and haven't missed them either. The ham I always add in extra ham. Can't have a New Years day without this lucky bringing dish. This is my favorite recipe for ringing it in. Do not let that cabbage scare you or your picky eater. Napa cabbage is extremely mild and if you shred it small enough, no one would ever know it was there. I prefer noticeable but if you have a picky eater, by all means hide the cabbage but don't leave it out! Everyone enjoys this dish, from my "no green in my food" teen, to my vegetarian adult daughter (she gets a ham free version cooked in a small pot to the side.) ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRVGRL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Very flavorful and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Zesty! Made this on New Years Day for luck (so far so good). I used regular cabbage because my store didn't have Napa, I eliminated the water chestnuts because they weren't in the directions, I used ham steak as other recommended and cut it up (don't know if they used the ham hocks also, but I didn't!), used canned black-eyed peas, and served it with Quinoa! I only made the changes because it's what I had and it was still great. I will definitely make it throughout the year as well as on New Years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancyJak

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wallingford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Santa Fe Stew

A pantry-friendly meal that's ideal for weeknight dinners.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States