Lucky New Year's Black-Eyed Pea Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Lucky New Years Black Eyed Pea Stew Haiku: "Made this four years now. Why have I not reviewed it?? So very yummy!" Can't believe that I've neither reviewed this recipe, nor made it any other time of the year, other than on New Year's Day because we LOVE it. I'd give it 4.5 stars as written (which I have prepared and eaten), and 5 stars (and more) w/ some little changes. Green cabbage instead of Napa, 3-4 slices chopped bacon (saute the onion and garlic in a little of the bacon grease), no water chestnuts, canned black eyed peas. We serve ours either over basmati or mashed potatoes, but always w/ a few splashes of chipotle tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was very enjoyable for my whole family this New Year's Day. It will be a tradition in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This was tasty but I think I'll add cubed ham next time instead of the ham hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Great recipe and so flexible. I used ham hocks and added additional ham. I also used 2 cans of black-eye peas and regular cabbage. My husband who would grudgingly eat one black-eyed pea on New Years, had many more today in this stew and pronounced it "pretty good". Now, that's an accolade!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
My husband and I loved this stew!!! Fantastic flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hingham, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
.dont think we like basmati rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This came out wonderful! I'd never had black-eyed peas before and the flavor of this and my ham from Christmas was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Brown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I always have Blackeye Peas and greens on New Years Day. I saw this recipe the last week of the year and loved the idea of having the peas and the greens together in a stew. This is the first time I have ever cooked with Nappa cabbage. It is so good, we have had it several times since and it's only Feb. I use diced ham instead off the Ham hock and have cooked it with and without the water chestnuts- it's great both ways. Yum yum....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Amazing! I substituted the ham hock with smoke turkey and it was delicious! This will be a staple in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was great! I only made a couple changes, two cans of black eyed peas and half a head of cabbage. I also sautéed some extra cabbage and onion to add to the stew for extra crunch. Very easily doubled to leave leftovers. Made with rice the first day and the second day it was so hearty, the rice wasn't needed. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

New Year’s Day Black-Eyed Peas

Enjoy them on New Year’s Day and grab a little luck for the entire year!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Split Pea Soup

See how to make hearty split pea soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States