Lucky and Rippy's Favorite Dog Food Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I liked the overall idea of making this for my dog that has been having some runny symptoms from her medication, but I would've liked to have know in the recipe whether the so called "minced chicken" was cooked or raw. Because I'm currently at the stage of cooking everything for a 1/2 hour more than it says on the recipe because of the raw chicken pieces left over. Hoping it won't turn into a complete disaster *fingers crossed*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
My golden retriever Leonidas normally hates wet dog food and he won't touch it or even go near it but I cooked this for the first time and substituted the chicken for his favorite thing in the world, beef, then I added some eggs, and he absolutely DEMOLISHED this food. He will most definitely be eating this from now on. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
That is basically what we feed our dog except we add in a can of sweet potatoes or yams to go with the peas and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Its close to what I make for my little cocker spaniel every week! The only thing is, I vary the vegetables (peas, spinach, sweet potato, apple, carrots, celery,whatever is coming in fresh in our garden that dogs can have) because just like humans, dogs do not digest corn so it seemed useless to give them it! When I originally was looking for a recipe though, this is a great base to start at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ceidrelynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I made this last week for my two mini dachshunds. I am now getting ready to make s second batch. They loved it and literally dance around the kitchen at dinner time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I am so glad that I found this recipe. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly and mixed it with his kibble and my dog LOVED it. Since then, I have changed up the ingredients based on what I have on hand, but follow the 3-3-3 ratio (1/3 meat, 1/3 rice & 1/3 vegetables). Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C R Henning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Easy to prepare and dogs love this combination
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
While my poodle would love to have a constant diet of chicken, there does need to be some variety. Also, it seems as if some reviewers are taking better care of their pets than themselves! I don't think this recipe is meant to be the only thing that the dog eats (it does say mix with kibble, hopefully a higher end nutritious one!) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I have two shih tzu, and they are the most finicky dogs I've ever had. They LOVE this! Finally - something that I don't have to force them to eat! I mix this half and half with kibble, and they can't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Ridge, Arkansas, USA
Living In: West Helena, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
Great basic recipe. However, I would use rolled oats or brown rice instead of white rice for nutrients and fiber. Also, just like humans, dogs need vitamins, minerals, and oils that are not represented in this recipe, so supplement with a multivitamin and add olive oil to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaeveAlleine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Homemade Dog Food

See how to make dog food from scratch using turkey, rice, and veggies.

Buddy and Bubba's Homemade Dog Food

Your dog will love Buddy and Bubba's homemade dog chow!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States