Luck o' the Irish Brownie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
More than 5 stars! Very rich,very chocolatey, very minty....everything you can imagine. These are easy to make and sooo tasty! Will definately be making these again. Thanks Cher for a fantastic Brownie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
Oh my goodness these are rich and delicious. Had the in-laws over and everyone loved them. Did not have unsweetened chocolate so used 6 tablespoons of cocoa and 2 tablespoons of oil for two of the squares, and two squares of semi-sweet chocolate. I also only used approx. 1/2 tablespoon of vanilla in the final layer as I thought 1 tablespoon was a lot. Can't wait to try these with different flavor extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
These were great! Only had semisweet baking squares They were fine with those. Lessened the sugar by a quarter of a cuo because of teh semi sweet chocolate. Wish I had the regular chocolate. Will have to try again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
These are really good. But the peppermint is a bit over powerful. It's so rich. My co workers did like it, but I saw some leftover green middle on some plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
These were great and they got rave reviews at work. I liked these better than the other mint brownies on this sight because they are much more brownie like. I would suggest starting melting the chocolate for 40 sec. to get it started, then use 15 sec intervals after that to save a little time. Don't cook too long without stirring though, or you may burn the chocolate. Cut the bars small because they are rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly and used the correct ingredients. The middle layer came out gritted, the top layer was runny and the brownie on the bottom was still mushy after 40 minutes in the oven at 350. The taste was okay but I will have to make changes if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I made a change to the chocolate frosting that went on top. I melted 2 ounces of semi sweet chocolate, 1/3 cup butter and 4 TBL of light whipping cream in a double broiler. Once melted I took off heat and added about 3/4 cup powdered sugar. I then put the bowl with the mixture in it in a bowl of ice and whipped it. The end product is a fluffy fudge frosting. It was a massive hit. They were gone within 2 minutes! It sounds complicated for the frosting but well worth it and reall not that hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
I made these, they were good, but i did make some changes because i dont really like mint. I used banana extract, and yellow food coloring. I halved the recipe because it would have been to much for us. They were definately a rich brownie, maybe a bit too sweet. But then again i changed it up by doing the choc-banana thing. Definately drink lots of milk with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cher
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
If anyone is having toruble with the top chocolate layer here's a tip: My recipe does not microwave the chocolate (it got edited by the higher ups) Melt ingredients over low heat on the stove. Turn off heat and add vanilla. Then with a wooden spoon beat it for about 2 minutes until it starts to shine. This also helps to cool it a little. Then spread over green layer and chill. Hope that helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Absolutely delicious! My family loves mint and chocolate together so I made these for St. Patrick's Day. I used a brownie mix for the brownie base instead of the recipe to make things a bit quicker, and they turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Peanut Butter Brownie Bites

See how to make delicious brownie bites with rich chocolate and peanut butter.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States