Lucie's Vegetarian Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I omitted the mushrooms and added chipotles in adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Angles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This is an amazing chili recipe! It got rave reviews from my non-vegetarian family members!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
It was awesome! For my first attempt at chili, this recipe helped me make it a huge success, thanks! I used a variety of dried beans instead of beans from a can as well as fresh tomatoes, so of course I had to change some things around regarding water and timing. Also I added a little red wine vinegar instead of that sauce, red lentils instead of bulgur, and some fresh parsley and cilantro, but those were the only changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I loved this but my hubby didn't care for all the veggies. The flavor just got better every day since I had plenty of leftovers and it froze for later lunches as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
This chili is a little hot and takes a little time to chop all of those base vegetables. However, it is thick, filling, and loaded with fiber. I think bulgar does that for lentil soups and vegetarian soups, that just can't really be achieved otherwise. I followed the recipe, except I didn't have mushrooms. So, I added a can of Trader Joe brand drained organic pinto beans along with the similar brand Kidney beans. I actually made this because I was getting low on vegetables in the house, but had plenty of celery, carrots, onions, and canned tomato and bean products. For the 2 cups of diced tomatoes, I used 1 can of no-sodium petite diced tomatoes. I had a cheat sheet on my fridge, for subtitutions, and did half water half tomato sauce in a can for the pre-made tomato juice. I also used sirachi hot sauce, for the hot sauce, as it was all I had and I left out the 2 Tblsp. of green chilis as it was plenty hot. When it was done, I tasted it and felt like it needed another ingredient. I added 1 cup of defrosted frozen roasted corn, Trader Joes brand. For garnish I did finely grated hot pepper cheese and some Trader Joe brand oyster crackers. That worked well. I would suggest this chili to vegetarians. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
So delicious! I skipped the mushrooms and red wine because I didn't have it, but the recipe was delicious! The only thing I would change would be doubling the batch as it only made about 4 meals (since it was so tasty!). Thanks Lucie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
The combination of ingredients works well for a full flavored chili without meat. Next time I will cut the chili powder & salt in half. It is very spicy. EnJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
It's good,but not vegetarian if you use Worcestershire (Anchovies).There are alternatives out there with no anchovy paste or anchovies in them. Or skip the Worcestershire altogether. Still "Could fool a meat eater" chili. Fooled me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Just made this. I did a few changes such as omitting the carrots. Not something I ever wanted in chili. I added some of my own spices to my taste but everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Love it!! it has so much flavor! You really would never know it doesn't have meat. try it with (jumbo) fritos corn chips and sour cream...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicole_noto

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

The Best Vegetarian Chili in the World

This tasty chili is packed with healthy beans and veggies.

Meatless Three-Bean Chili

See how to make a tasty vegetarian chili with three beans and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States