Luby's German Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
I have to agree with previous reviewer, Zita on this one. Two teaspoons of cocoa in a German CHOCOLATE pie? Shouldn't there have been some chocolate chips or baker's chocolate somewhere in the recipe? And also, I baked it for the suggested 45 minutes and the top started to burn but the center was STILL liquidy. You were right Zita, a waste of ingredients. I'll only make this again if it's revamped with more chocolate added. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I used 2 Tablespoons cocoa instead of 2 teaspoons and the pie was great. I cooked it for 50 minutes and it was crispy and delicious. My other German Chocolate Pie recipe makes 2 pies and I only wanted 1, so this was perfect. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mayodan, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
There was no chocolate flavor at all. The recipe called for 2 teaspoons of cocoa, maybe it was supposed to be more. I have had this pie before at a restaurant and this tasted nothing like it. What a disappointment and waste of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This pie great tasting, and was easy to make and everyone liked it, even if they did not like coconut and nuts. I used walnuts, as that is what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
Incredable!!!!!! WOW!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I ended up trying this pie because I had all the ingredients on hand. I read all the reviews before preparing and decided to tweek it a touch. Here is what I did: I added 2 Tablespoons of cocoa, used evaporated skim milk, added a cup of coconut and only had sliced almonds for the nuts. After it baked 45 minutes I checked it and it was real runny, that's when I realized that I had forgotten to add the cornstarch. So I baked it around 15 more minutes and let it rest for 30 minutes before slicing. It was perfect! - with a nice smooth creamy pudding-like texture. The nuts worked and the evaporated skim milk was fine. Hubby loved it with a glass of milk. So I recommend everyone to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA
Photo by GiGi
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I made this pie for my DH for his birthday. It was really fantastic and so easy. I did use 2 TBSP unsweetened cocoa as others suggested. It was very rich and chocolatey and he just loved it! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great pie, easy to prepare and a hit with the family! I added 2 tablespoons cocoa powder on the second pie and came out with a richer chocolate flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I had to throw it out. No one in my family liked it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ello

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I made this for my hubby and it was a great hit! I did use the 2 tablespoons of cocoa as others did and it gives it more flavor!I am making it for my Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States