Luby's German Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GiGi
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I made this pie for my DH for his birthday. It was really fantastic and so easy. I did use 2 TBSP unsweetened cocoa as others suggested. It was very rich and chocolatey and he just loved it! Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GiGi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Great pie, easy to prepare and a hit with the family! I added 2 tablespoons cocoa powder on the second pie and came out with a richer chocolate flavor. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I ended up trying this pie because I had all the ingredients on hand. I read all the reviews before preparing and decided to tweek it a touch. Here is what I did: I added 2 Tablespoons of cocoa, used evaporated skim milk, added a cup of coconut and only had sliced almonds for the nuts. After it baked 45 minutes I checked it and it was real runny, that's when I realized that I had forgotten to add the cornstarch. So I baked it around 15 more minutes and let it rest for 30 minutes before slicing. It was perfect! - with a nice smooth creamy pudding-like texture. The nuts worked and the evaporated skim milk was fine. Hubby loved it with a glass of milk. So I recommend everyone to try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
I used 2 Tablespoons cocoa instead of 2 teaspoons and the pie was great. I cooked it for 50 minutes and it was crispy and delicious. My other German Chocolate Pie recipe makes 2 pies and I only wanted 1, so this was perfect. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mayodan, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This pie great tasting, and was easy to make and everyone liked it, even if they did not like coconut and nuts. I used walnuts, as that is what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
I had to throw it out. No one in my family liked it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ello

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
I have to agree with previous reviewer, Zita on this one. Two teaspoons of cocoa in a German CHOCOLATE pie? Shouldn't there have been some chocolate chips or baker's chocolate somewhere in the recipe? And also, I baked it for the suggested 45 minutes and the top started to burn but the center was STILL liquidy. You were right Zita, a waste of ingredients. I'll only make this again if it's revamped with more chocolate added. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
There was no chocolate flavor at all. The recipe called for 2 teaspoons of cocoa, maybe it was supposed to be more. I have had this pie before at a restaurant and this tasted nothing like it. What a disappointment and waste of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2000
Incredable!!!!!! WOW!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

German Sweet Chocolate Cake

A classic sweet chocolate cake topped with a creamy coconut and pecan frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States