Lubia Polo (Green Bean Rice) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
I really like the idea of frest green beans. I couln't find basamatti rice at my grocer, so I used a package of yellow saffron rice. I also used sausage with the hamburger to flavor it up. Also, didn't have any curry, so I used some garlic powder and salt instead. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAG16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
My Mother-in-law taught me how to Loobia Polow they way her Iranian mother-in-law taught her in Iran! She does not put jalapeno or curry powder in it. She does add to it turmeric and a little cinnamon to the meat while it is cooking. My 4-year-old loves this so much that I can get him to clean up his room in five minutes flat if I bribe him with “Stumboli Kaplow” (how he says the name of this dish!)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I love rice and this was a delicious treat! I left out teh meat but used everthing else. The curry and jalapenos are what gives this dish a real kick in the butt! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
A way to avoid the fried rice on the bottom is to put thin slices of potato on the bottom. The potatoes come out crispy and are a nice extra with this dish. My mother always did this and we all fought over the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
This was a lot of fun to make and really delicious. Like everyone here, I made some adjustments: first I used half the rice, beans and meat. Then, I doubled the amount of onion, added 4 cloves of minced garlic, and used for spices 1 T turmeric, 1 t cinnamon, 1 t curry powder, 1 t cumin seed, 1/2 t cayenne. I also used Morningstar Farms burger crumbles and brown basmati rice and used 2 cups of broth, and because of the longer rice cooking stage, :40, skipped the first cooking of the beans by just tossing the rice in with the beans. This nicely filled, and nicely stuck to, my Calphalon everyday pan, but the crust was easy to scrape out and put on top of the rice, and tasted just as good. The crust was declared a delicacy! This dish wins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This is a great recipe. I substituted turmeric for the curry and used red pepper flakes instead of the pepper for spice and added garlic with the onion. This recipe makes A LOT of food, which is good because it goes fast. Edit: Don't skip the tadiq (the fried rice at the bottom). That's what we Persians fight over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
It didn't hold the shape when I turned the pot over, but it was EXCELLENT, nonetheless. I will make this again and use less water for the rice to make it firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Excellent! I used two cans of green beans (since I didn't have any fresh) and cut out the 15 minutes to cook the beans. I also cut down the curry to 1 tablespoon and left out the jalapenos so it wouldn't be too spicy for my kids. They LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Excellent winter warmer and family staple meal! I'm a lazy cook: here's how I tweaked it to be even easier! Instead of jalapenos I used 1/2 fresh green beans and 1/2 chopped bell pepper (red is yummy). Lazy cook alert! Instead of using a pot on the stove, whack the mixture (after rice has barely absorbed the liquid) into your electric RICE COOKER, hit the start button and leave it alone! If your cooker is non-stick like mine, the 'rice cake' will pop out in perfect shape when you're ready for dinner! An excellent one-pot meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States