Lubia Polo (Green Bean Rice) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2002
My Mother-in-law taught me how to Loobia Polow they way her Iranian mother-in-law taught her in Iran! She does not put jalapeno or curry powder in it. She does add to it turmeric and a little cinnamon to the meat while it is cooking. My 4-year-old loves this so much that I can get him to clean up his room in five minutes flat if I bribe him with “Stumboli Kaplow” (how he says the name of this dish!)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
A way to avoid the fried rice on the bottom is to put thin slices of potato on the bottom. The potatoes come out crispy and are a nice extra with this dish. My mother always did this and we all fought over the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Although I enjoyed this dish, I still prefer the traditional way that my mother makes it and that is with turmeric and not curry. Try it and see what you prefer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Sorry but as a persian this seems more like a arab, indian with a hint of mexican recipe than anything else. ground beef=wrong curry=wrong jalapeno=wrong and did i hear you say BROTH? although it may be good for the untrained persian the real deal recipe is so comforting that you can eat it over and over and over! Stew meat, beef - Fry meat in 2 tbl of oil until browned(season with salt and pepper (turmeric as well). (Drain excess oil) Return meat to pan, add one can of tomato sauce. You can caramelize 1 onion in another pan and add to meat. Simmer on medium/low until tender. Add water if needed as it simmers to keep it from drying up. Last 5 minutes, add 2 cans of green beans. (drained) Rice - Boil rice, up to 5 minutes. (do not cook rice all the way. Semi crunchy still) Remove and rinse. Add 4 tbl oil and 2 tbl of butter in a pot large enough for rice and meat until butter melts..(med/high) Add 1/3 of rice. 1/3 of sauce, ever so lightly combine, rolling it. Repeat 2 more times. Cook on med/high for 7-10min uncovered. Cover with lid (wrap lid with kitchen towel or few sheets of paper towels. Cook for additional 40 min. ( this will crisp the bottom of the rice. (Ta dihg) Get a large enough plate, place on top of pan and flip it. This will look like an upside cake. Serve with plain yogurt mixed with chopped cucumbers and some garlic and or dill weed. Serve it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norcaljohnny

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
i fry beans with a little cooking oil and make a dry casserol with meat and fresh fried tomatoes,then cook the rice in a large pot of boiling water,not completely tender,then drain the rice and pour rice into a large skillet with a small amount of cooking oil at the bottom.pour rice and the casserole layer by layer.let it steam with the lid wrapped in a towel on top of skillet.steam it on a low heat for about 40 minutes.nice food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is a great recipe for an easy and delicious Persian meal. My only suggestions for making this more authentic and closer to the original recipe: Skip the jalapeno peppers, replace the curry with turmeric, and add saffron too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Excellent winter warmer and family staple meal! I'm a lazy cook: here's how I tweaked it to be even easier! Instead of jalapenos I used 1/2 fresh green beans and 1/2 chopped bell pepper (red is yummy). Lazy cook alert! Instead of using a pot on the stove, whack the mixture (after rice has barely absorbed the liquid) into your electric RICE COOKER, hit the start button and leave it alone! If your cooker is non-stick like mine, the 'rice cake' will pop out in perfect shape when you're ready for dinner! An excellent one-pot meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I love rice and this was a delicious treat! I left out teh meat but used everthing else. The curry and jalapenos are what gives this dish a real kick in the butt! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
This was a lot of fun to make and really delicious. Like everyone here, I made some adjustments: first I used half the rice, beans and meat. Then, I doubled the amount of onion, added 4 cloves of minced garlic, and used for spices 1 T turmeric, 1 t cinnamon, 1 t curry powder, 1 t cumin seed, 1/2 t cayenne. I also used Morningstar Farms burger crumbles and brown basmati rice and used 2 cups of broth, and because of the longer rice cooking stage, :40, skipped the first cooking of the beans by just tossing the rice in with the beans. This nicely filled, and nicely stuck to, my Calphalon everyday pan, but the crust was easy to scrape out and put on top of the rice, and tasted just as good. The crust was declared a delicacy! This dish wins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This is a great recipe. I substituted turmeric for the curry and used red pepper flakes instead of the pepper for spice and added garlic with the onion. This recipe makes A LOT of food, which is good because it goes fast. Edit: Don't skip the tadiq (the fried rice at the bottom). That's what we Persians fight over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Best Green Bean Casserole

A shortcut recipe for green bean casserole you'll want to have.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States