Lubia Polo (Green Bean Rice) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
I really like the idea of frest green beans. I couln't find basamatti rice at my grocer, so I used a package of yellow saffron rice. I also used sausage with the hamburger to flavor it up. Also, didn't have any curry, so I used some garlic powder and salt instead. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAG16

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
I didn't use the jalapeno while cooking, but did add to my own plate, to make kid friendly. I guess that worked because my picky son actually ate his with no complaints. I also cut back on the amount of rice/broth. This was a great way to use up the abundence of green beans in my garden. It makes a lot, so I'll be taking some for lunch. I will make this again for sure. Thanks so much for the post Trina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
This was a lot of fun to make and really delicious. Like everyone here, I made some adjustments: first I used half the rice, beans and meat. Then, I doubled the amount of onion, added 4 cloves of minced garlic, and used for spices 1 T turmeric, 1 t cinnamon, 1 t curry powder, 1 t cumin seed, 1/2 t cayenne. I also used Morningstar Farms burger crumbles and brown basmati rice and used 2 cups of broth, and because of the longer rice cooking stage, :40, skipped the first cooking of the beans by just tossing the rice in with the beans. This nicely filled, and nicely stuck to, my Calphalon everyday pan, but the crust was easy to scrape out and put on top of the rice, and tasted just as good. The crust was declared a delicacy! This dish wins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2003
I omitted the peppers and mixed cinnamon and turmeric with the curry powder. It tasted so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Violet Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
This makes SO much food - filled an entire 5 quart dutch oven. Rice was black on bottom about 25 minutes in so I served up. Quite spicy without much flavour. Saved it by adding some natural yoghurt. Will not make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Although I enjoyed this dish, I still prefer the traditional way that my mother makes it and that is with turmeric and not curry. Try it and see what you prefer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
A way to avoid the fried rice on the bottom is to put thin slices of potato on the bottom. The potatoes come out crispy and are a nice extra with this dish. My mother always did this and we all fought over the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
The thought of Middle Eastern food was quite appealing to my husband and I, but although it was somewhat spicy we felt it was still missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
i fry beans with a little cooking oil and make a dry casserol with meat and fresh fried tomatoes,then cook the rice in a large pot of boiling water,not completely tender,then drain the rice and pour rice into a large skillet with a small amount of cooking oil at the bottom.pour rice and the casserole layer by layer.let it steam with the lid wrapped in a towel on top of skillet.steam it on a low heat for about 40 minutes.nice food!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I love rice and this was a delicious treat! I left out teh meat but used everthing else. The curry and jalapenos are what gives this dish a real kick in the butt! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States