Lubia Polo (Green Bean Rice) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
My Dad is Iranian and this was one of my favorite dishes when I was little but I haven't had it in years because my husband it a typical American man and he doesn't really like to go out of his comfort box. I didn't use the jalapenos or the onions because I made this for my 2 year old daughter and my hubby is allergic to onions. I used turmeric (that's what my fam. used when I was little) instead of curry but the rest I followed just as the directions stated and it turned out perfectly. My husband and my daughter (both very picky) loved it, we will definitely be using again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Stephens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Excellent winter warmer and family staple meal! I'm a lazy cook: here's how I tweaked it to be even easier! Instead of jalapenos I used 1/2 fresh green beans and 1/2 chopped bell pepper (red is yummy). Lazy cook alert! Instead of using a pot on the stove, whack the mixture (after rice has barely absorbed the liquid) into your electric RICE COOKER, hit the start button and leave it alone! If your cooker is non-stick like mine, the 'rice cake' will pop out in perfect shape when you're ready for dinner! An excellent one-pot meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Launceston, Tasmania, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
If I could give this 4 1/2 stars I would. We loved it!! I even managed to get it out of the pot onto a plate in a mound shape, but it was a bit too crispy. Leftovers freeze really well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This was good! I skipped the rice-crisping because I don't have the right kind of pot. I also cut the rice down to 2 cups and adjusted the liquid accordingly. I took the advice of another reviewer and omitted the jalepeno, and for the spices I did 1 tbsp. turmeric, 1 tsp. cumin, 1 tsp. curry, 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper. Overall, it wasn't the greatest thing I've ever made, but it was pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
"Yum" says my 1/2 Persian husband - "Make that one again". I followed the recipe exactly. We make plenty of persian rice in this house and this was a nice variation on the old standard. We did burn the crust (what a shame) but with practice we will make perfect. Can't wait to make this for the rest of the persian side of the family - they will be so proud of me. This is a standard recipe served in all persian restaurants so we thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMASPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Excellent! I used two cans of green beans (since I didn't have any fresh) and cut out the 15 minutes to cook the beans. I also cut down the curry to 1 tablespoon and left out the jalapenos so it wouldn't be too spicy for my kids. They LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
It didn't hold the shape when I turned the pot over, but it was EXCELLENT, nonetheless. I will make this again and use less water for the rice to make it firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This was just ok, a bit on the bland side and the green beans were too mushy for my taste. Made way to much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINSEID

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This is a great recipe. I substituted turmeric for the curry and used red pepper flakes instead of the pepper for spice and added garlic with the onion. This recipe makes A LOT of food, which is good because it goes fast. Edit: Don't skip the tadiq (the fried rice at the bottom). That's what we Persians fight over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States