Lubia Polo (Green Bean Rice) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Used turmeric instead of curry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by epicuric_bibliophile
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
It tasted great! It was a bit watery though in the end. I would cut down on the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
This was a good dish, but not authentic tasting... it had more of an Indian feel due to the curry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I can only give a 4 because of my own customizations (due to lack of certain ingredients and the fact that it would be served also to a 2-, 5- and 7-year-old). The base was great and I look forward to making it again for myself with the jalapeno! Just one thing to mention: didn't need the full 35 minutes at the end, only about 15 and it was nice and crispy as desired. Good luck and eet smakelijk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Azusa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
A great one pot dish. I had cut back on the curry, added turmeric, and seeded the jalapeño (needed to be kid-friendly). Since I had at least 1.5 cups of leftover white rice, I only added somewhere around 1 cup of broth. After turning off the heat, I let everything rest for a while so the rice can absorb the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Wow, my husband and I loved this dish! It was a lot of food, but we finished it off in a couple days. We loved the 'tah digh,' too. I will definitely make this for company sometime. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alysse m.d.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Sorry but as a persian this seems more like a arab, indian with a hint of mexican recipe than anything else. ground beef=wrong curry=wrong jalapeno=wrong and did i hear you say BROTH? although it may be good for the untrained persian the real deal recipe is so comforting that you can eat it over and over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by norcaljohnny

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Made a few mistakes my first time making it, and didn't realize it would make so much, but my 1.5 year old loved it and that makes it a hit in our house. I think I will also try some of the alternative spice suggestions on future tries. Overall, it was very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
This is a great recipe for an easy and delicious Persian meal. My only suggestions for making this more authentic and closer to the original recipe: Skip the jalapeno peppers, replace the curry with turmeric, and add saffron too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This is completely different than the lubia polo I make. I fry bits of stew meat in oil with onion and garlic, then add tomato sauce, salt/pepper and tumeric and/or saffron. It is much better with saffron that has been ground up fine and stirred into melted butter then added. I do blanch the beans to keep them bright,and I like them crisp so add them at the end of the sauce. I do not use broth, I just use basmati rice (cooked in a well oiled large pot "al dente" - not quite cooked so the rice stays firm and separated). You put the sauce on top of the rice and continue cooking on low for a while then 15 minutes before serving stir it all together and serve. I like my rice very tomatoe-y so add more sauce, which is not authentic but there you have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Green Peppers I

See how to make 5-star stuffed peppers.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States