Luau Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Soooo good!! i will be making it time and time again! great with red pepper flakes on top, and sliced pinapple chunks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Used a can of pineapple chunks. Left out the ketchup and cornstarch. Used fresh ginger. Served it over quinoa though brown rice would be good too. Turned out great and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I thought this was a really good healthy dish. The only thing I added was about a 1/4 cup of coconut milk, like a reviewer suggested. Very good, next time I will add some pineapple chunks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittylover25

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brea, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This is a good, easy dish. The chicken pieces don't need to be cooked before you put the dish in the oven. I used less chicken (2 large breasts) and they cooked through in the casserole dish in about 45 minutes. I also added some pineapple chunks and ground red pepper. My husband loved it but the reason I gave it four stars is that I found it too sweet for dinner and couldn't eat much at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalie
Home Town: Canal Fulton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I am no fan of chicken so for a recipe to be good enough for ME to give it 5 stars it really needs to knock my socks off. This one did the trick. Before cooking the chicken I infused the oil with dried chilis. I did as others suggested and doubled the sauce. I used fresh ginger as well as freshly crushed garlic. For added zip I added crushed red pepper. I think it would have been pretty bland without it. I served it over steamed rice. I will be making this one a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This is awesome. I didn't have pineapple juice, but I did have a 20 oz can of pineapple slices (in heavy syrup, which I didn't know at the time). I just used that juice (plus 1 cup of water) and cut up the pineapples into it and left out the pepper. Because of my kids, I cut the onion really small and cooked it and some garlic (instead of garlic salt) with the chicken. I also doubled the sauce. The only thing I had to go with it was bowtie pasta, but it was super. Couldn't get enough of it. I will be making this again a lot. It was super easy to do and the pineapple chunks made a big difference. The water chestnuts gave it a great crunch. Once again, it was great (and great leftover - I just had some for lunch)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherly, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Thought this was a pretty good recipes. Taste was similar to a jarred sauce but I'd still make this recipe as it was simple! My only changes was to add minced garlic instead of garlic salt and added fresh pineapple...great flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMIE33

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
Really good! I also, as suggested in another review, increased the sauce. This will be a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is excellent!! I love pineapple and took the suggestion to add Pineapple tidbits to the sauce. It was really, really good and made lots. I was able to freeze 1/2 of it for another day for my family of 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States