Luau Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
This is one of those recipes that is completely over rated based on people making changes to it before rating it, because as it is, it's not very good at all. There is not enough sauce, and the little sauce there is doesn't have enough "zing" to compensate for the blandness of the chicken, green peppers, and water chestnuts. It's not terrible by any means, but it doesnt warrant the high rating without modification imo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Needs a little extra, but it is good. What I did to make it better, was to shake the raw chicken chunks in a bowl with flour and a bit of salt. Then I cooked the pieces in a skillet with a bit of olive oil. I proceeded as directed but when it was all done cooking I tasted it and something was missing. I didn't have pineapple chunks (it needs it) so I added pineapple preserves and crushed red pepper flakes. Then, it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This turned out just wonderful. My luau guests gave it rave reviews. I tried to double the recipe and the sauce came out a little runny, but it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
it was really good! i kept out the water chestnuts though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This was a really good recipe, we served it for a Hawaiian themed game night - it went over really well. I will definitely make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mentone, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Loved this recipe!!!!! I followed the recipie didn't cange a thing..Was great over brown rice my husband loved it I will make this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I thought this recipes was great as is. The only change i made was i used less chicken because I only had 4 large breasts. But it tasted wonderful. I served with a simple coconut rice. I will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
so very easy to make, added some mushrooms and it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Good easy meal. I added pineapple chunks and pepper flakes to dish. I didn't pre-cook the chicken, I figured an hour in the oven would cook it fully (shortcut). I did double the sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
This is a great recipe that I will be adding to my favorites. I made it for a luau and doubled the other ingredients but tripled the sauce ingredients so I would have more for on the side to add to the white rice if needed. The only thing I changed was I put one can of bamboo shoots and one can of water chestnuts and used green, red and yellow peppers to equal two peppers for more color. I would recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States