Luau Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I made this for me and my 9 year old son tonight for dinner and we both really enjoyed it. Of course I scaled it down since it was just the two of us, but I put the full amount of water chestnuts in. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Excellent! I didn't use the peppers or onions - my family doesn't like them. I browned chicken breasts that were pounded thin in a little olive oil in an oven proof skillet, then whisked in all the sauce ingredients in the pan and simmered for a few minutes. I then added water chestnuts & crushed pineapple, and put the uncovered skillet in the oven to finish cooking the chicken - 375 for about 10 minutes. Served over white rice. Hubby asked me to add to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Loved it! Reason for 4 stars instead of 5 though is that it definitly needed the sauce doubled and a little heat from some added red pepper flakes. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I don't normally review recipes when I don't follow them exactly. However, I hope that I might help fellow busy parents out and share the tweaks that I have made to make this a quick weeknight meal. First I seasoned boneless skinless thighs with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder and I put them on the gas grill. In the meantime I made the sauce as stated in the recipe. (added crushed red pepper to taste; used fresh ginger and garlic) I chopped the green pepper, onion and water chestnuts and sauteed all three in olive oil. I mixed the veggies and sauce together and spooned over the grilled chicken. Served with white rice... Quick easy weeknight dinner in a 1/2 an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Deee-licious! I followed LatinaCook's recommendation and coated the raw chicken with flour and a little salt (I used garlic salt) and pan fried it in a little olive oil. I definitely think that made a big difference! I minced green and red peppers, onions, and sweet potato and added it to the sauce before coating the chicken. Next time I would leave the onions sliced for a little texture/crunch. I also doubled the sauce, and it hardly covered the chicken even with the doubled sauce and veggies. I served over white rice but brown rice, quinoa, and pasta would work too. I will definitely make it again - hubbie and I both thought it was restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I cooked the chicken (only three breasts) with a little salt, pepper and cayenne in a splash of chicken broth first, then added the (full amount) onions and peppers until tender. Meanwhile I made the sauce(full amount), adding pineapple tidbits, simmering for five minutes. Then I combined the two and added red pepper flakes. I transferred to a casserole dish and baked for an hour, then topped with sliced green onions and sliced almonds. The almonds were an excellent addition, the whole thing was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This meal was yummy, but did not "wow" us. I took the suggestions of many and doubled the sauce, added 1 extra T of brown sugar, and added more veggies. Probably not top on our list to make soon, but will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Very tasty. I cooked covered(tinfoil) and just uncovered 10 minutes before it was done. perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States