Luau Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This is tasty, but my family would like it better with the kick of a little hot pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I made this for me and my 9 year old son tonight for dinner and we both really enjoyed it. Of course I scaled it down since it was just the two of us, but I put the full amount of water chestnuts in. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Excellent! I didn't use the peppers or onions - my family doesn't like them. I browned chicken breasts that were pounded thin in a little olive oil in an oven proof skillet, then whisked in all the sauce ingredients in the pan and simmered for a few minutes. I then added water chestnuts & crushed pineapple, and put the uncovered skillet in the oven to finish cooking the chicken - 375 for about 10 minutes. Served over white rice. Hubby asked me to add to the rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Loved it! Reason for 4 stars instead of 5 though is that it definitly needed the sauce doubled and a little heat from some added red pepper flakes. Husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I don't normally review recipes when I don't follow them exactly. However, I hope that I might help fellow busy parents out and share the tweaks that I have made to make this a quick weeknight meal. First I seasoned boneless skinless thighs with salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder and I put them on the gas grill. In the meantime I made the sauce as stated in the recipe. (added crushed red pepper to taste; used fresh ginger and garlic) I chopped the green pepper, onion and water chestnuts and sauteed all three in olive oil. I mixed the veggies and sauce together and spooned over the grilled chicken. Served with white rice... Quick easy weeknight dinner in a 1/2 an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Deee-licious! I followed LatinaCook's recommendation and coated the raw chicken with flour and a little salt (I used garlic salt) and pan fried it in a little olive oil. I definitely think that made a big difference! I minced green and red peppers, onions, and sweet potato and added it to the sauce before coating the chicken. Next time I would leave the onions sliced for a little texture/crunch. I also doubled the sauce, and it hardly covered the chicken even with the doubled sauce and veggies. I served over white rice but brown rice, quinoa, and pasta would work too. I will definitely make it again - hubbie and I both thought it was restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ash
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
I cooked the chicken (only three breasts) with a little salt, pepper and cayenne in a splash of chicken broth first, then added the (full amount) onions and peppers until tender. Meanwhile I made the sauce(full amount), adding pineapple tidbits, simmering for five minutes. Then I combined the two and added red pepper flakes. I transferred to a casserole dish and baked for an hour, then topped with sliced green onions and sliced almonds. The almonds were an excellent addition, the whole thing was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This meal was yummy, but did not "wow" us. I took the suggestions of many and doubled the sauce, added 1 extra T of brown sugar, and added more veggies. Probably not top on our list to make soon, but will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States