Luau Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This was good! It did not "WOW" me. I doubled the sauce, decreased the brown sugar by 1 Tablespoon, cooked the chicken with some garlic and onion then added the peppers in for about 3-5 minutes and added red chili flakes. Without the chili flakes I do not think I would have liked it as much. I will make it again with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Peres, Missouri, USA
Living In: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I felt like I have had this before and it could have easily been achieved with a bottled sauce. It was definitly good, but not worth the work or the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
I just served this recipe to 150 people last night and they thought it was exceptional!!!! A big hit all around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
The flavor wasn't bad although I had to add red pepper fpr some zip. The sauce was rinny, maybe I needed more cornstarch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIE ANNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
I gave this recipe 4 stars because the basis was great but it needed some tweaking. I precooked the chicken in a skillet with a little olive oil, salt, pepper and a pinch of cayenne. I doubled the sauce, added the green pepper, onion and added pineapple tidbits and cooked them all together for approximately 15 minutes to soften the veggies and then added the chicken and about 1 tsp. of red pepper flakes. It turned out wonderfully, sweet but with a kick from the pepper flakes. I served it with fried rice (brown rice with fresh peas, green onion and carrot) and a nice green salad. My husband and his family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I just Love it! To be perfect try addind a green chille(it urges for some spice) Try also with uncooked chicken breasts instead of cooked, 1 tablespoon of ginger (instead of 1/4) and give it a final touch with some drops of olive oil just before baking. WOW!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I felt the sauce was too little in both amount and taste. It seemed promising but the finished product was not. I wish it could have had a little more "zing" to it but was just bland. If I ever made this again, I would probably add red pepper flakes like someone suggested but I doubt I'll try this recipe again. Also for anyone trying this recipe, I would recommend doubling the prescribed amount of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2004
Very good and extremely simple. I only gave it a 4 star, because we added 1/4 C of coconut milk to the sauce and it would NOT have been nearly as good without it. The coconut milk gave it a nice island flavor that was so creamy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
delicious and sooo easy! I also added pineapple chunks, broccoli, carrots, red peppers and snow peas. I love veggies! The sauce was mild and sweet...great for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
It was good. But I reccommend to double the sauce, add pineapples slices and cherries. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Easy Chicken Tetrazzini

See how to make an easy baked chicken tetrazzini.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States