Lower-Fat Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Absolutely FABULOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
For a low fat cole slaw, this is a great base recipe! I usually use a bag of cole slaw mix to save time and add a few extras depending on my mood; celery or seasoned salt, green onions or red onions, and fresh cilantro, basil, parsley. Whatever is fresh in the garden. Yes, it's a little plain - but a great healthier alternative to typical slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
really awesome! I didn't have lemon juice, but it turned out amazing. Love how the flavors mix with the cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent Berthiaume

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Really great coleslaw! I'm really pleased with how the flavors came together. I will say that the celery seed and pepper additions were critical to rounding it out, however. It comes out as a very VERY light/thin coating on the veggies (fine to me; it was a tortilla topping anyway) and I didn't even use as much cabbage as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
While I love the idea of a lower-fat coleslaw...this recipe is a good base for add on's. The recipe was easy to follow, quick to put together. But where I found lacking, is spice. While it had a zip, it didn't have that flavor I traditionally love in coleslaws. You will have to build with your own selections of spices to get it to the level of pizzazz. I needed black pepper, celery seed and celery salt. As written, again a good base for lower-fat, just needs more umph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This was good for a lower fat, healthier option. I didn't add the milk (didn't have any), but still coated the cabbage lightly. I agree with other reviewers that you need to add some other seasonings; I added celery seed and pepper for more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
Very dry if made exactly step by step, we added four more tablespoons of mayo (low fat) and it was moist then with an extra sprinkle of sugar to cut the tartness, but otherwise great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Seemed like way too much salt to me. It was good otherwise and I love a low fat option. I'd definitely make it again, just with way less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Loved it, but as said before, was lacking spice, so I added 2 tbsp of spicy mustard and it turned out great! Used Stevia instead of sugar as well so it is Omni Phase 3 approved :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I modified this a bit by using plain yogurt instead of mayonnaise and did not use any milk. It was good. Next time I will add more seasoning to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States