Lower-Fat Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
I modified this a bit by using plain yogurt instead of mayonnaise and did not use any milk. It was good. Next time I will add more seasoning to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
I understand most cole slaw recipes call for some type of vinegar, but to my husband and I, it tasted like vinegar. I did add your typical celery seed and celery salt, as I don't think a cole slaw recipe should be without it. We just couldn't get past the vinegar taste in this one. Maybe only 1 tbsp. of apple cider vinegar would be enough. Two tbsps. of 2 different vinegars is just way too much. So glad this wasn't served to friends or family. Had to add a little mustard to kill the strong vinegar taste. This recipe, to us, needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tennismom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
really awesome! I didn't have lemon juice, but it turned out amazing. Love how the flavors mix with the cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent Berthiaume

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
Really great coleslaw! I'm really pleased with how the flavors came together. I will say that the celery seed and pepper additions were critical to rounding it out, however. It comes out as a very VERY light/thin coating on the veggies (fine to me; it was a tortilla topping anyway) and I didn't even use as much cabbage as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
For a low fat cole slaw, this is a great base recipe! I usually use a bag of cole slaw mix to save time and add a few extras depending on my mood; celery or seasoned salt, green onions or red onions, and fresh cilantro, basil, parsley. Whatever is fresh in the garden. Yes, it's a little plain - but a great healthier alternative to typical slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Loved it, but as said before, was lacking spice, so I added 2 tbsp of spicy mustard and it turned out great! Used Stevia instead of sugar as well so it is Omni Phase 3 approved :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I decreased the salt to 1/2 teaspoon then followed the recipe exactly for the dressing. It was not thick enough for my taste and I added another tablespoon of low fat mayo, then added a teaspoon of celery seeds and some cracked pepper. If you like very thin cole slaw dressing, use the full amount of milk. If not, start with just 2 tablespoons and see if it is thick enough for you. I did not let the dressing sit before adding it to the broccoli slaw bag and refrigerated for about 5 hrs before dinner. Flavorwise this didn't work for us - it tasted like diluted mayo. We won't have this again. Thanks for sharing though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I followed this recipe but added 2 tablespoons of dill relish (will add more next time) and used a store bought bag of broccoli slaw instead of cabbage. This was great and even my husband liked it. I think some celery seed might make it pop. This is a great base recipe to experiment on and customize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I really liked the basics of the recipe but I used half low fat yogurt instead of milk which made it less rich as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Seemed like way too much salt to me. It was good otherwise and I love a low fat option. I'd definitely make it again, just with way less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

12-Second Coleslaw

See how to make amazing 12-second coleslaw…in about 42 seconds.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Nana's Southern Coleslaw

A creamy, tangy, vintage slaw handed down through the generations.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States