Lower Fat Chicken Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
This was a big hit! This recipe really only made enough for five people, and left us wanting more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Very tasty soup. Noticed although that there was not enough liquid. I just doubled the amount of tomato juice and chicken broth. LMAO I also forgot to buy the cooked chicken before i made this tasty recipe. Used Italian turkey sausage, browned it before i added it to the soup and cut the additional cooking time to 45 minutes for this recipe. (Would have given the recipe the full stars if it would have not been so misleading with the broth and tomato juice).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
This soup was delicious, but I think the recipe is wrong. I used 1 litre (4 cups) of V8 vegetable juice, as well as the broth. Any less, and there would not have been enough liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This was delicious. I do think there's a problem with the recipe, though. I can't help wondering if it's supposed to read 1 qt of chicken broth rather than one cup. I used frozen green beans from my garden, so I added 1 extra cup to start with to make up for the missing liquid. There was still nowhere near enough liquid. I ended up using several extra cups and a little extra tomato juice, too. I thought the seasonings were spot-on, not overpowering at all. My cabbage cooked away to nothing by the time the soup was done. This would be a five star recipe if not for the amount of liquid. I would absolutely say start with 4 cups of broth. One cup is definitely not enough. Leftovers are great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
My husband said it was fantastic and that I could make this dish any time again. I use frozen veggies instead, and added cooked noodles in at the end just before serving. Very hearty dish for a cold winter supper. Yummie...the spices were a perfect blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Gal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
wonderful & easy I added a few more vegi's and things and made a whole crock pot full it was gone in 2 days
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
There was nowhere near enough juices, I could tell from the recipe so I even added a little extra broth, it turned out like a stew, a very dry stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I thought this recipe was terrible and I threw 80% of it away. I had to add more broth than called for and it has way too much basil and Italian seasoning in it. Will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
I was mainly looking for a good combination of seasonings. To cut down on carbs, I left out the carrots and potatoes and used more of the other veggies. I also substituted tomato sauce for tomato juice and added a can of diced tomatoes. My whole family loved it, said it was the best ever. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I love this soup it help me stay on my diet Plan. I all so freeze this when i need some thing fast.I use it in my slow cooker it cooked the chicken that melts in your mouth.If am in real hurry i used frozen vegg in a bag.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States