Lower Fat Banana Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Amazing. Just as good as any fat-filled recipe. I did make substitutions. Used whole wheat flour, splenda, conola oil and egg beaters for an even healther treat. Also added 1/2 t cinnamon for added taste. Used 2 medium loaf pans and cooked for 40-50 minutes. Is best when served room temperature and I used I Can't Believe It's Not Butter Light
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2006
Baked this yesterday. I used 1/2 c yogurt instead of the 1/4 c applesauce like some of the old reviews said. Also read some reviews that said this bread was kind of bland so I added a little over a teaspoon of cinnamon. CAME OUT GREAT! Very moist! I was afraid it'd dry out since I had to leave it in the oven longer than expected since the middle was mushy, but it came out moist and perfect. Will definitely save this recipe and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Cut the sugar in half? YES. I cut it to 1/2 c. but it was still super-sweet. Make it 1/3 c., and use 3 smashed ripe bananas. I also used half whole-wheat flour, and sprinkled in some flax seeds for a nutty texture and omega-3's. Also cut down the vanilla to 1 t, since 1 T seemed excessive, and tossed in 1 t of cinnamon. Except for being way too sweet, I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This was sooo good! I love vanilla but 1 tablespoon is WAY too much. I reduced it to a little over a teaspoon, that is for sure a mistake in the recipe. I didn't do walnuts or choc chips but I added a big handful of fresh blueberries, and it was DELICIOUS, it disappeared quickly. Also, I used half whole wheat pastry flour. ****I make this a lot, and I've tried different things like adding a couple tablespoons of flax meal and a tablespoon of honey, and taking out some of the liquid since flax is considered a fat substitute. I really recommend it - it comes out so nicely and adds to the nutrition profile a lot.****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I followed the reviewers suggestions and added an extra banana, 1tspn cinnamon, and used (1/3cup) brown sugar and (1/3cup) white sugar. I baked this in a loaf pan, so I had baked it about 75-80 minutes. When I took it out, the bottom was stil mushy, so I put it in the oven for another 10 minutes or so. By then the bread was just about ready (Although there was still a little bit of mushiness unfortunately... I didn't want the crust of the bread too burnt..). This bread was a little bland tasting. I could definitely taste the difference between this and regular banana bread. I much prefer regular banana bread. The loaf was quite dense and it did not rise enough in my opinion, so if I were to make it again in a loaf pan, I would add maybe a teaspoon more of baking powder. The recipe was alright, but I personally think there are better tasting banana bread recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ggglitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
Very good recipe, I used an Omega Egg substitute and the recipe was still great(and cut the fat down even more). I will definitly put this one in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
This recipe is fantastic! My roommate bragged around school and one of her teachers demanded a piece. I used vanilla yogurt instead of milk (plain works as well) to make the bread even moister. Next time I make it I'm going to add some cinnamon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valefleur

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2001
Great tasting and moist without the high calories in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Love this recipe...Great tasting and healthy! I used whole wheat flour and added some flax seed for a little extra. Just remember not to forget the applesause as it is not in the directions. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This recipe is delicious. It has just the right amount of banana flavor and is very moist. You can't even tell that it is a lower fat recipe. My dog also enjoyed it (she stole half the loaf off of the kitchen counter when we were out of the house).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States