Lower Fat Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Please DO NOT bake for 60 min. I baked mine at 50 min and it was still slightly overdone. Other than that, I think it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Delicious! It was moist and really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This recipe is delicous! I added cinnamon and used Milk instead of water as several other reveiwers recommended. It turned out GREAT and fit nicely into our calorie and fat count. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
My favorite banana bread of all time -- the only recipe I'll use now. Given that I've seen banana bread recipes calling for an entire CUP of oil, using only 1/4 c of butter is pretty good. (I have, however, substituted fat-free vanilla yogurt for the butter --as an experiment-- and it did work OK, if you want to make it entirely fat free...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Mine only needed to cook about 35 - 40 minutes. I noticed at 42 minutes that it looked almost burnt at the edges. I don't know if it's the high altitude but 350 for 35-40 minutes would be perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I also used 1/2 white & 1/2 brown sugar, leaving everything else as is & everyone loved it. Certainly as moist & tasty as other breads with higher fat & caloric content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Brigantine, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I made this bread for a work breakfast we were having. It disappeared so quickly and I received numerous compliments. I was pleased with the way it turned out, but thought it could have been a bit sweeter for my own personal taste. Next time I will do some of the substitutions others suggested such as applesauce instead of oil and 1/2 brown sugar 1/2 white. Overall a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Made this over the weekend (had 4 very brown, very soft bananas sitting on the counter). This recipe turned out great -- you can't even tell it's lower in fat. Just as moist as other more fattening versions. I did add 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla to my batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I had the recipe converter convert this to "6" to make 1/2 doz. muffins, cooked them for 20 min., and they were absolutely wonderful...light, full of banana flavor, and a recipe I'll definitely make again. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I followed another's suggestions and made the following changes: substituted 1/3 cup brown sugar for 1/3 cup of the white sugar; substituted applesauce for the margarine; substituted skim milk for the water; substituted 2/3 cup wheat flour for 2/3 cup of the all-purpose flour; added 1 tsp vanilla; and added 1 tsp cinnamon. This is truly the best banana bread I've ever had and it's so much better for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States