Lower Fat Banana Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
This recipe is great and I couldn't even taste the difference with a full fat banana bread. I did add more banana than the recipe suggested and it came out extremely moist. I also added less butter, but it didn't seem to make a difference. I will be making this bread regularly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Tastes good. I added some cranberries and walnuts and used whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
ZOMG! STARGAZER8383's idea for dried Cranberries - BRILLIANT! Used all applesauce (and about a 1/2 tbs more), all brown sugar (a little short on that), and my bananas only measured out to 3/4 cup... But still: This was really really good - my lil' girl was gobbling this up! I don't know if I'll ever make another variety of banana bread... And, will NEVER leave out the cranberries. (Be generous with the berries - I used about a handful and a half, and found myself wishing I put GOBS more in). FINALLY: Check it early! I yanked mine out of the oven about 16 minutes early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I doubled this recipe, used 2 1/2 cups of blended frozen bananas, left out the water, cooked it in a 2 qt glass casserole dish. I also put pecans in it. I baked it at 350 degrees for 1 hour and it was PERFECT despite the fact that I forgot the salt it was still DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This bread was quite good, especially for a lower fat bread. I found it to be a little bit too chewy, but the taste was great :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Very yummy! I did use egg substitute and applesauce in place of oil and real eggs. However, the first time I made this I used the Splenda for Baking. DO NOT USE Splenda for Baking in the recipe - Loaf came out hard and too artifically sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I found this to be really terrible. The crust was super chewy and the bread was really dense for a banana bread recipe. Perhaps I stirred it too much. I also subbed applesauce for the butter and 3 egg whites for the eggs as well as added 1 tsp. each of vanilla extract and cinnamon. The flavor wasn't bad it was just the texture. I don't think I will make this version again with all the other choices on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Atherton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
This is a great recipe for banana bread! The only change I made was to add some cinnamon to the mix since without it I find it can be a bit bland, but otherwise this turns out very moist and is really simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This came out really good. I substituted 1/8-1/4 c unsweetened applesauce for all of the butter and also 1 whole egg + 2 egg whites for the 2 whole eggs. Also, I used Splenda instead of sugar. It came out dense and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trooworld

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithville, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
Wow! This recipe was SO good! We had some bananas that I knew weren't going to be eaten, so I decided to find a recipe for banana bread. It was my first time I ever made banana bread, and it turned out amazing. I used applesauce instead of butter, and 3 egg whites instead of 2 eggs, and got a fat free bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Coldwater, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 372) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States