Lower Fat Amish Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Use less sugar, add diced fresh tomatoes, add onions, pickles, and some pickle juice, no celery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
For an even lower fat dressing, I substitute HALF the mayo with 2% plain yogurt. If I'm thinking ahead, I drain the yogurt through cheesecloth in the fridge for an hour or so, which gives it a texture more like sour cream. (Then use the yogurt whey in my next batch of bread.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauriePat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Recipe Group Selection: 05, January 2013 ~ I made this macaroni salad, knowing that it would be tough to receive a 5-star rating from my family. Macaroni salad is the one item that I make that is my DH “favorite” thing I make. That being said, he and my son did enjoy this recipe. I knew I would enjoy it and really liked the addition of peas in this salad. My changes were the pasta choice and the addition of diced onion. I had a bag of beer stein pasta shapes to use up and we like the taste of onion with pasta. This is a very good recipe and I wouldn’t hesitate to make it again. For me, the peas added a lot to this salad. Thanks Lorilynn for sharing your recipe. I was excited to see your recipe become our choice for this week’s Recipe Group selection. I served this with a ’Grilled Pastrami and Swiss Sandwich’, a personal recipe from AR. We had a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I made this for the recipe group selection of the week. I used the whole 16oz. box of spiral noodles, added in red bell pepper and green onions. I just added the sugar till it reached my sweet preference, just under the 1/4 cup. A very good macaroni salad, one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I halved the recipe and added 2 green onions. There was plenty of dressing to cover the macaroni and still was enough 2 hours later when I stirred it up and ate it. This is a delicious macaroni salad, and I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Made this for Recipe Group...This was good!Hubby wasn't a fan of the peas in this, but I thought they were ok and the kids liked it so...I did add some onion to the mix, and I was glad I did for the extra flavor and crunch, and reduced the sugar for personal preference. This was nice to try for something different, and I would make it again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I have made this salad twice now in a week and both times I halved the recipe and added about 3 three green onions and half a small red pepper finely diced. I weighed the dry macaroni to make sure I cooked 6 ounces. The first time I made it I added the dressing while the macaroni was still warm and it soaked up the dressing making the salad too dry. The second time I let the macaroni cool completely and the end result was a much moister salad. DH and I have both thoroughly enjoyed this salad and I will be making it again. I think the peas make the salad. BTW for the peas I just dump the frozen peas in the colander when I start cooking the pasta and then dump the cooked pasta and water on top of the peas. That makes the peas the perfect texture for us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made for Recipe Group. I had to make a few subs, regular mayo and celery flakes, but still had a great taste. I do miss onions in it though and may add some in since I don't have the crunch from the celery. Remembered after I didn't whisk the dressing together that I was supposed to and get sugar dissolved. I really don't think it needs it anyway. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Made as written very good. To elevate it a bit my husband added some white pepper and lemon pepper seasoning. Will definitely make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Great recipe! Without the sugar. Use Miracle Whip, which is sweeter than mayo, instead of added sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States