Lowcountry Shrimp and Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
this is SO good and SO easy! notes: i cooked the grits in 2 c. chicken broth and 1 c. half & half, instead of water. i sauteed some leeks (white part only) with garlic, then added the shrimp. right before the shrimp were done, i added about 1/4 c. chicken broth and the diced / seeded tomato; this gives the shrimp a "sauce". when serving, i garnished the grits with crumbled bacon, and the shrimp with thinly sliced green onion tops. have available tabasco-type sauce for those who like more spice. excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2001
Pretty good. We couldn't find the garlic cheese spread at Kroger's store so we improvised and used a mixture of cheddar cheese, cream cheese, and garlic to taste. It turned out OKAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I love grits, shrimp and tomatoes so I thought I would like this but it was even better than I expected. I added a clove of garlic to the shrimp saute. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This was fantastic! I read the reviews and as suggested I substituted the water in the grits for 2 cups chicken broth and 1 cup half and half. Also, I added leeks to the pan before adding the shrimp.I have always loved shrimp and grits, but never had a recipe this good.....until now! I will make this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Greensboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very Very Good, and super fast! I have never made shrimp and grits with tomatoes until this recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This is a great recipe! I left off the tomatoes, since I'm not fond of them. It's so easy, great for a Saturday night supper, after working in the garden all day. Thanks a lot! Elaine - Spartanburg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Awesome recipe and super easy to cook for an after work dinner meal. Plus the garlic cheese spread in the grits created an amazing flavor. The only thing I would have done differently (and I did) was add Old Bay seasoning to the shrimp. Cause how are they low-country without this seafood staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This was great! I've been meaning to make this forever, because I've always enjoyed shrimp and grits in restaurants when I order it. This tasted different than the way I was used to, but still very good. I did as a previous reviewer suggested and made my grits with chicken broth and milk, and put a little chicken broth in with the oil and butter to sautee the shrimp also. I threw in some asparagus with the shrimp and tomoatoes that I had sitting around, and fresh crushed garlic in both the shrimp and grit pans, and I used Velveeta as the cheese for the grits. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
Sorry, my family and I just didn't care for this recipe. It tasted o.k. but we didn't like the texture of the grits. Very gummy. Perhaps they sat around too long while the other ingredients were cooking. My husband didn't seem to mind - he ate a huge plateful. I doubt I will make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I subbed low sodium chicken broth for the water when making the grits, and light garlic and herb cheese. Other reviewers had mentioned sautéing a leek with the shrimp and since I had one lonely leek in the fridge I decided to follow their lead. After sautéing the shrimp I added chicken broth and seeded, quartered cherry tomatoes to make a bit of a sauce. Tasty and quick, I will definitely make this shrimp dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States