Lowcountry Shrimp and Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This was AWESOME! My hubby wouldn't stop talking about it for days. He brought the leftovers to work, where he became quite popular after offering samples to his colleagues. Like others suggested, I also boiled the grits in a combo of broth and milk. I also tossed in with the shrimp a (drained) can of Rotel to give it a bit of a spicy kick. Since I couldn't find the garlic cheese, I added 1 cup of shredded pepper jack and 3/4 cup of shredded cheddar to the grits. Turned out wonderfully. Thanks for such a delicious recipe! Even my mother-in-law (who's quite the gourmet) wants the recipe after hearing my hubby go on and on about it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINUNC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This was absolutely delicious. I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hrhsun
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This was very good. I also used 2 cups chicken broth, one cup half and half in the grits. I used a lot of salt and after it was cooked, I put in sharp white cheddar and a little bit of left over brie. Also three cloves of fresh minced garlic. For the shrimp part, I sauteed bacon first. Then in a clean pan, I put in some olive oil and butter, added the shrimp and some green onions, sauteed, and added yellow heirloom tomatoes and a little bit of some crumbled bacon. When I put them together, I added additional green tops from the scallions and more crumbled bacon. This was really really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hrhsun
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Really good and really fast! I did not have any fresh tomato so I omitted it. I used 2 cups of chicken broth and 1 cup 2% milk to cook the grits. I chopped up some onion and garlic and sauted in the oil before I added the shrimp and then used some cajun seasoning and smoky paprika on the shrimp. Used the cheese I had on-hand - some sharp american cheese slices and some medium cheddar which I grated up. The grits were creamy and rich with the cheese - a stick-to-your-ribs dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
4 stars rather than 5 because of the garlic cheese roll. In 30 years of shopping I've never found it outside the southeast. AND I don't like processed cheese. Real cheese of your choice can be substituted. I wanted a recipe to make immediately, so I used ingredients on hand: - Precooked shrimp worked fine. I roughly chopped them (better for the bites with grits) and sauted with olive oil and plenty of garlic. I added drained diced tomatoes. (Good fresh tomato would undoubtedly be better, but the canned was fine.) I added a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, which I think was a great addition. - Grits: I'd never heard of using milk for part of the liquid. I tried it; it didn't seem to add anything and the milk scorched quickly.) I added the drained tomato liquid and it gave it a pretty color. I stirred in 3/4 of the grated cheese I had on hand (Emmentaler, which I thought I'd love or hate -- loved it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I have to say that even though this wasn't the best shrimp and grits that I've ever had, it was pretty good. I took the advice of other reviewers by using chk. broth and half and half. I also used minced garlic and velveeta since I don't think they make the garlic cheese roll anymore. Next time, will cut back on the tomatoes (I used a can of petite diced) and use fresh, not frozen shrimp. Husband said it was a keeper! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
This recipe was very good. I used the regular velvetta and just added garlic. Still womderful. Also I added a little old bay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Yummy! I took other reviewers' suggestions and cooked the grits in 2C chicken broth and 1C half and half. I only added about 3 oz. of Boursin cheese to cut back on the fat, but the grits were still creamy and delicious. I sauteed the shrimp with olive oil and a splash of dry white wine. I left out the tomatoes, but added onion and garlic to the shrimp. My husband, who had never had grits before, really enjoyed this meal. Served it with a garden salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
This was an interesting meal I would have never thought tasted good together (shrimp AND grits). I tried it out with grits I had made previously for breakfast. Instead of putting garlic spread, I used garlic powder and slowly added cheddar cheese until it melted. Next time I will try adding crushed cloves of garlic and letting the flavor mix into the meal for a bit like you do when you're making alfredo. All in all, the family thought it turned out pretty well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kreativekuisine
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I enjoyed this recipe. I didn't have any garlic cheese spread, so I sautéed chopped, fresh garlic with the shrimp and I added grated extra sharp cheddar cheese to the grits. I also omitted the tomato. The grits were really creamy and the shrimp was delicious. I plan to try this recipe again with a little spice added to the shrimp, maybe something cajun! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kreativekuisine

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States