Lowcountry Shrimp and Cheese Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2004
This was fantastic! I read the reviews and as suggested I substituted the water in the grits for 2 cups chicken broth and 1 cup half and half. Also, I added leeks to the pan before adding the shrimp.I have always loved shrimp and grits, but never had a recipe this good.....until now! I will make this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Living In: Greensboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2001
this is SO good and SO easy! notes: i cooked the grits in 2 c. chicken broth and 1 c. half & half, instead of water. i sauteed some leeks (white part only) with garlic, then added the shrimp. right before the shrimp were done, i added about 1/4 c. chicken broth and the diced / seeded tomato; this gives the shrimp a "sauce". when serving, i garnished the grits with crumbled bacon, and the shrimp with thinly sliced green onion tops. have available tabasco-type sauce for those who like more spice. excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2002
This is a great recipe! I left off the tomatoes, since I'm not fond of them. It's so easy, great for a Saturday night supper, after working in the garden all day. Thanks a lot! Elaine - Spartanburg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I must admit I was skeptical at first. I would have never thought to eat shrimp AND grits. However, I found this meal to be not only satisfying and delicious, but innovative. I have never tasted anything like it and I love shrimp. Thank you Allison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
Very Very Good, and super fast! I have never made shrimp and grits with tomatoes until this recipe and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
Super recipe for a quick, simple, very tasty dinner. I added 2 T of fresh lemon juice. We had leftovers and very carefully reheated the shrimp portion to have a second meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This was great! I've been meaning to make this forever, because I've always enjoyed shrimp and grits in restaurants when I order it. This tasted different than the way I was used to, but still very good. I did as a previous reviewer suggested and made my grits with chicken broth and milk, and put a little chicken broth in with the oil and butter to sautee the shrimp also. I threw in some asparagus with the shrimp and tomoatoes that I had sitting around, and fresh crushed garlic in both the shrimp and grit pans, and I used Velveeta as the cheese for the grits. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I love grits, shrimp and tomatoes so I thought I would like this but it was even better than I expected. I added a clove of garlic to the shrimp saute. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
hello, i made this for my mother's birthday dinner and it was a HIT. i did not have spend all day in the kitchen.i follow a few suggetions using chicken broth ,half and halfand the crumbled fresh bacon dressed the plates and was all so very tasty. A+++ indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was so good! I used the suggestion of chicken broth and half and half for the grits and it was soooo creamy!! I used regular velvetta and added some chopped garlic. I had a friend over for dinner and she does not even really like grits and loved them. Her fiance is from the north and had never had cheese grits and he said he really liked them too. I liked it b/c it was very easy to make and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States