Low Sugar Strawberry Rhubarb Crunch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2015
Really enjoyed this. Used a little over 2 tablespoons of cornstarch for thickening and Splenda brown sugar blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
quick used half recipie but all the topping, add 2 tb.cornstarch to fruit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Very good. Would make again but would eliminate the honey. Topping did not get as crunchy as I thought even though I left it in oven longer but it still tasted great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
We have a large rhubarb patch so I made this last night because it was so easy and quick. It was awesome but like other reviewers I found it was too runny. Next time I will toss 1-2 Tbs tapioca with the fruit along with 2 Tbs (or to taste) Splenda brown and will cut down on the sugar load (dietary reasons) even more by using Splenda brown in the topping. I will also add another 1/2 c. oatmeal and forget the honey as it added nothing to the flavor and little to the sweetness. With the changes it could make a relatively healthy breakfast alternative perhaps topped with a drizzle of half and half. YUMeee! Suz190
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Disappointing. Soupy, not sweet enough, and certainly not picture worthy. Adding sugar and a thickening agent (cornstarch or flour) would be simple and necessary improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2015
Good- added 2 tbsp of honey, added pecans on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna McGuire

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I doubled this recipe and added a cup of blackberries, one Tablespoon of tapioca for thickening, and a half cup of raw sugar. What a great dessert to serve to family at the end of Summer tomorrow!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Margaret Warren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emmett, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I added 2 TBS cornstarch. Serve with yogurt or whipped cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I made this last night with farmer's market rhubarb. I substituted jarred Trader Joe's peaches for the second fruit as my options were limited. It was great and was eaten by 3 people completely that night. I did add the cornstarch as recommended and used 1/2 butter, 1/2 canola oil. Thanks for the great, healthy recipe. A fabulous way to enjoy summer fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Awesome recipe!! So yummy for having very little sugar. I did however make some changes. I used 2 tbsp honey and microwaved the rhubarb with the honey for 4 min and then mixed in the strawberries. I also added 2 tbsp cornstarch to fruit mixture. I doubled the topping portion of the recipe except for the brown sugar. I still only used 1/2 cup for the whole thing. Also instead of butter I used applesauce and only cooked for 30 instead of 40 min. Must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States