Low-Fat Vegan Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I made these yesterday and my family really enjoyed them. We jut started eating vegan for my husband's heart health, so I'm looking for new recipes to replace old favorites. These were moist and yummy and were a very nice addition to our Sunday brunch. I used 1 cup ww flour, 1 cup ww pastry flour and it worked nicely. Thanks for sharing, Mallow1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I was so surprised by how good this turned out. I used all brown flower which added a nice grainy texture to it, and made a cake instead of muffins. So yummy! And I agree that the chocolate chips are worth it- but if you skip them you would want to put some sort of added something (nuts, dates, raisins) to add sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Made these the other day and loved them. I used muffin liners and after I baked them, I put them in the fridge which helped the muffins to be not so sticky when the liner was peeled off. Will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tinax3
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Super yummy and healthy! Just made them and they're really soft and have a good pumpkin flavor. The chocolate chips sweeten them up and are perfect for chocolate lovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Amazing and no added oils. I made these this weekend to take to my mom's and everyone loved them. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
I loved this recipe, The only thing i would point out that the best pumpkin you can use is from a can, that is really gooey and sticky. otherwise they dont set up all the way and they are not as sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Great healthy breakfast muffin for the kids. Not too sweet which I appreciate. I did add an egg because the mixture was extremely dry before baking and I wasn't necessarily looking for a vegan recipe. I agree with the other reviewers that if you leave out the chocolate chips, you need to add raisins, diced apple, cranberries, or something for a little extra sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIOCHANLEAT82

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
These muffins had a good flavor, but you could tell by their appearance and texture that they are a lower fat type muffin. They don't have that smooth, slightly moist top most muffins have. The interior is soft, yet extremely dense. The exterior is slightly hard and has more of a crusty texture. The batter is very thick and the way it is spread is the way it bakes up. So consider that, if not spreading smoothly on top. Only change I made was using mini chocolate chips, pumpkin spice for the nutmeg, and King Arthur white whole wheat. These would fit most diets. The calories are also quite low for a muffin. Might be good with some coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by jayziti
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
This was a wonderful recipe! Super easy to make, and it tasted great. It was a hit with all of my friends (who are all meat and dairy eaters, some scoffed at the "Vegan" name first, saying vegan foods don't taste the same). They all LOVED it. The only thing I would add is to add some oil in the muffin liners. The muffins got stuck to the liners themselves and wouldn't come off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jayziti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by trishsmc
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
These turned out great. I only had white flour on hand so I used that instead of the whole wheat. I also used apple cider instead of water to boost those fall flavors. They did stick to the paper but that doesn't really bother me. The fact that it's not full of added fats more than makes up for it. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States