Low-Fat Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
This is a good recipe and I'm hoping I can freeze leftovers cause it made alot! I added a cup of cooked rice and it produced a nice texture. Kitty was right - I won't go back to canned refried beans! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
These are really good. I didn't mash them as I needed them for a recipe that called for whole canned beans. I would suggest you ADD SALT but for those trying to avoid the sodium in canned beans, this is the recipe! These aren't just Low Fat - they are Non Fat and full of flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This recipe wasbso easy. I only had a can of red beans I used that. Added garlic powder and cumin and it was flavorful! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Diamond Hill, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I love beans like this, they are simple. It's not about a bunch of added flavors/spices but the taste of pinto beans so I think you have to love the flavor of those beans to enjoy this. The second time I made these, I add some fresh green peppers, red onions, cilantro, and tomatoes as a garnish before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This recipe is easy to make, just needs a little extra seasoning. I love that it's low fat and had way better texture and flavor than canned refried beans. I made a big pot and froze the leftovers in smaller portions for taco night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
as written, it's an alright base recipe - but a little bland and dry. after i added more hot sauce and a little broth it was much better. i still gave it 3 stars for creativeness of the low fat-ness of it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Loved this recipe. The only difference was I cooked mine in the crock pot all day. Much better than canned and so healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brea, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I love the fact of using dried beans instead of can beans. The beans did not have any flavor. After adding some Goya Adobo they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
The only thing missing is the salt. Adding butter instead of salt doesn't sound very good. If you want to add the fat lard is more traditional and in this is actually better. Although that would defeat the purpase of a low fat dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mendota, Illinois, USA
Living In: Centralia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I really liked this recipe. Lots of flavor and very easy. I guess the other person that rated this thought she should add butter because she wanted it to be high fat! The purpose of this recipe is low fat and this is a great idea because bought refried beens are loaded with fat and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States