Low-Fat Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2012
These were good. Although, I added the amount of poppy seeds and when I bit into the muffin I could taste this bitter weird aftertaste from all of the poppy seeds. And that taste overpowered the muffin. I didn't like using the lemon extract and should have used real lemon juice. A lot of it so I could taste fresh lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheeryWazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I used Stevia in place of sugar....not a good idea. Too sweet, maybe cut back the sugar to 1-cup. Muffins need some kind of fat....maybe a bit of butter. I did not like this recipe. It tasted like something was was wrong like no salt & too many eggs. They stuck to the paper cups really bad even though I sprayed them with oil. Recipe made 18 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Really didnt like this. I found the muffins too dense and sticky and they also lacked flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Substituting Applesauce for the butter or margarine or other fat is what makes these too dry. I know some people do that, but the results in texture and taste are not as acceptable for me, and in this particular recipe , I think some margarine is needed. I usually only use half applesauce and the other half is butter or Margarine etc, but if I am making a Big Batch like this, the fat is not worth worrying about Per serving. Some recipes I have used both the margarine called for and half the applesauce called for and doing that will also make a moist muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
These were very good. The lemon and poppy seeds work very well together, and you'd never know this is a low-fat muffin. These all vanished quickly. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
These aren't bad for being low fat. I used medium muffin cups andthey were done in about half the time it says here. It is a very dense cake, and I most definitely would not cut the sugar. If I do make them again, I might even add a bit more lemon flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
I have made these a few times, either they turn out good or are dry. I haven't figured out why they turn out so diffrent each time...??? I will keep on trying, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I made these EXACTLY as written. I did not care for them. they were rubbery in texture, didn't rise much and I think they needed real lemon zest and less extract. I will search for another recipe for these muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
too dense! and I cut the sugar by 1/2 cup as suggested and it wasn't sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
These are super good. My BF hates low-fat things and he didn't even notice. He even brought some over to his parents house! I made 24 muffins from the recipe. They are 2 weight watchers points each. Happy snacking!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States