Low Fat Full Flavor Cream of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Absolutely Fantastic! Hands down Delicious! Followed exactly as recipe said (used stick blender) and served with a sprinkle of parmesan on top. OMG YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I have made this soup several times with different variations and it always comes out fantastic. First time I made it as written and loved it! Second time I added sauteed bella mushrooms and it was fabulous! For a low fat version this is really good! Thank you for sharing =) Please keep in mind this a healthy version, it IS missing something....all the FAT =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
REAL YUMMY!!! I added celery and carrots...emmmm emmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by profit414

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I kept to the recipe EXCEPT I did not add the coriander. I did not add the whole amount of evaporated milk, I just added enough until it looked creamy to me. The evaporated milk I did use was fat free. Very good, very simple. It fools you into thinking you're having something so decadent and fat laden. I think the one thing I'm missing is garlic but I think I'd add garlic to breakfast cereal if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Fabulous. The leeks are without doubt what makes this recipe special. Full flavor is right, no false claim from the submitter. I made this just as written, right down to the low sodium broth, and would not change a thing, though I did puree all the broccoli. Quick and easy for such beautiful depth of flavor. I recommend using freshly ground coriander seed if you can, crushing gently just to release the oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This soup turned out absolutely amazing!!! It was super easy and tasty to boot! I will definitely make this again. The one and only change I made was using fresh cilantro. I will never buy canned soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Amazing soup! I subbed onion for the leeks (simply because the grocery didn't have any), though I'm sure the leeks are better. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
So, I was looking at the ingredients and awesome nutrition of this recipe and thought to myself, how creamy and delicious could it really be? When I tasted the broth prior to blending, I got the urge to add extra herbs, but I waited. I am happy I did! This recipe is a creamy texture in the sense of a smoothie more than the "creamy" you tend to associate with soups. However, I am 100% okay with this because it is so healthy and so delicious! It isn't too thin or too thick and smelled great cooking -- it brought my roommate out of her room to see what was cooking! I added 1/2 a cup of cheddar cheese when I added the milk, and it really didn't make it any better because this recipe is perfect as is. So, my advice would be to skip adding cheese and save the calories! The only thing that I recommend doing differently is adding garlic when sauteing the onions -- I added three cloves because I am a garlic lover and think it makes ANY soup better! Thanks for this recipe. EDIT: I had friends over for dinner and offered this while the main course was finishing cooking. Three of them said, "ehh... I don't really like broccoli soup but will try it if you have some cheese for it". Well I did (sharp cheddar) and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Awesome soup. Creamy and full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Was exactly what the Dr. ordered. I'm on a fluid only, restriction diet and this has saved me from the doldrums of high protein shakes. I made a half batch just to be sure it wouldn't go to waste, but of course everyone loves it, so I'll be making another batch soon. The only deviations I made was to add a little garlic powder and instead of evaporated milk, I used FatFree Half&Half. I hesitated regarding substituting onions for leeks and I'm very glad I stayed with the leeks. They do make a big difference. Enjoy this soup, It's a lifesaver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pepperell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

See how to make rich, creamy mushroom soup from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States