Low Fat Full Flavor Cream of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Fabulous. The leeks are without doubt what makes this recipe special. Full flavor is right, no false claim from the submitter. I made this just as written, right down to the low sodium broth, and would not change a thing, though I did puree all the broccoli. Quick and easy for such beautiful depth of flavor. I recommend using freshly ground coriander seed if you can, crushing gently just to release the oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Super easy to make. Great tasting. A great soup for a cool Fall night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
=] it was so good! im deffinitly gonna use this recipe for a lifetime! [=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by future.cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This soup is so filling and rich tasting. It does the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Cinquanti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is really delicious but I do miss my thickened commercial cream-of soups. It might be worthwhile to try adding a slurry of flour and water to get this thickened up a bit. The only changes I made were to use onion instead of leeks since I didn't have leeks, and I added an additional 1/4 tsp. of salt to really pump up flavor. Other than that, followed the directions exactly. Thanks for a great low fat dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Excellent- made a few changes though to my liking, scaled it down to 2 to 4 bowl fulls and fried and added freshly minced garlic & chili flakes once it had 5 minutes before blender time. I think it gave it a bit of a kick and then sprinkled cheese once it was in the bowls. My 3 year old licked it clean!!! Very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was a good base, but it lacked something. I would actually omit the cond. milk next time - the soup was thick and tasty enough without it. Not sure what it's lacking, but is fine to eat as is... Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
The soup is delicious, we watch our sugars so we used just a couple of tablespoons of ff evaporated milk. Great way to get your greens! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Absolutely Fantastic! Hands down Delicious! Followed exactly as recipe said (used stick blender) and served with a sprinkle of parmesan on top. OMG YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This soup turned out absolutely amazing!!! It was super easy and tasty to boot! I will definitely make this again. The one and only change I made was using fresh cilantro. I will never buy canned soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States