Low Fat Full Flavor Cream of Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Fabulous. The leeks are without doubt what makes this recipe special. Full flavor is right, no false claim from the submitter. I made this just as written, right down to the low sodium broth, and would not change a thing, though I did puree all the broccoli. Quick and easy for such beautiful depth of flavor. I recommend using freshly ground coriander seed if you can, crushing gently just to release the oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Super easy to make. Great tasting. A great soup for a cool Fall night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
=] it was so good! im deffinitly gonna use this recipe for a lifetime! [=
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by future.cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This soup is so filling and rich tasting. It does the trick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Cinquanti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is really delicious but I do miss my thickened commercial cream-of soups. It might be worthwhile to try adding a slurry of flour and water to get this thickened up a bit. The only changes I made were to use onion instead of leeks since I didn't have leeks, and I added an additional 1/4 tsp. of salt to really pump up flavor. Other than that, followed the directions exactly. Thanks for a great low fat dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Excellent- made a few changes though to my liking, scaled it down to 2 to 4 bowl fulls and fried and added freshly minced garlic & chili flakes once it had 5 minutes before blender time. I think it gave it a bit of a kick and then sprinkled cheese once it was in the bowls. My 3 year old licked it clean!!! Very yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This was a good base, but it lacked something. I would actually omit the cond. milk next time - the soup was thick and tasty enough without it. Not sure what it's lacking, but is fine to eat as is... Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
The soup is delicious, we watch our sugars so we used just a couple of tablespoons of ff evaporated milk. Great way to get your greens! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Absolutely Fantastic! Hands down Delicious! Followed exactly as recipe said (used stick blender) and served with a sprinkle of parmesan on top. OMG YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This soup turned out absolutely amazing!!! It was super easy and tasty to boot! I will definitely make this again. The one and only change I made was using fresh cilantro. I will never buy canned soup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Neumann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States