Low-Fat Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This has become one of my staple recipes. Great filling lunch dish and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I did make some changes to the recipe based on other reviews. I switched 1 can out for no salt diced tomatoes, and added about half the recommended salt. Also, I used just a dash of the ground cloves instead of the 1/8 tsp. I blended it in the pot with a hand blender because I do like my tomato soups a little chunky, plus it was easy clean up. I only had a can of 2% evaporated milk. Overall, for how quick and simple it was, it turned out pretty good, but I'm not sure if it would have tasted better with the ff evaporated milk?.. I will have to try it that way next time, or maybe with regular ff milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Worked out great! Omitted the cloves (not a fan in soup) and used 20 fl oz milk and 4 tbs sour cream as I didn't have any evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I thought this was really good. I added fresh basil before putting it in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Delicious - I like the spice of the pepper. But I agree with some of the other reviews. Skip the cloves, a little too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This soup was fantastic! However, next time I make it I will not add as much pepper because it was very spicy. Still a hit though and I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
It can be dangerous to put hot liquid in a blender. I blend mine first and then put it on the stove to heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is soooo good! I even make it in the microwave at work, after browning the onions at home. The cloves are what MAKES it!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marypiano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Choctaw, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I liked this easy-to-make soup. I used FF half and half because it's what I had, but I just couldn't bring myself to add the cloves. It just seemed too weird. 2 tsp. salt is way too much. Start with 1 tsp. and go from there. This easy-to-make soup definitely has potential with a good bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was so tasty. My whole family enjoyed it including my 2 year old who normally doesn't like soup. I substituted low fat cream for the evaporated cream since i made it while traveling in Switzerland and i couldnt find it. I'll have to make double next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriegal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Kilauea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States