Low-Fat Cream of Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
This was very good for a 'light' soup and a quick, shortcut one at that. I would recommend not adding the full amount of salt though. Canned tomatoes are already high in sodium. This only needed a generous 1/4 tsp. I used honey in place of the sugar and added a tsp of Italian seasoning along with only a pinch of cloves. Be sure to temper the milk before adding all to the pot, and don't overheat the soup, to keep it from curdling. Really quite smooth and rich considering the lack of cream. It was the perfect pair for veggie & cheese quesadillas. Made a light, but filling, meal. Thanks so much for the recipe. I'll be making this again, especially as it calls for ingredients that are always on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I thought this tasted okay. I was looking for a low fat recipe for cream of tomato soup that didn't have cream or half and half in it. The soup is low fat, but seems quite high in sodium between the canned diced tomatoes and added 2 tsp. of salt. I followed the recipe exactly except left out the black pepper, because I don't care for it, and subbed nutmeg for the cloves. I didn't have ff evaporated milk but had 2% evaporated milk, which worked fine. Make sure that onion is softened beyond the 10 minutes. I assumed mine was, but still had some uncooked onion bits. I did use a hand emulsion blender to make it easy. This went fine with grilled cheese for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Great soup! Perhaps I shouldn't rate this because of the changes I made, but we loved what we had! I used a bit of extra onion, changed the sugar to honey, used Spike instead of salt, chipotle chile powder instead of pepper, and soy milk instead of evaporated milk. I left it a little chunky instead of blending it smooth. This is a quick, delicious lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I had high hopes for this one. I used 1 can no salt diced tomatoes and 1 can Rotel tomatoes with green chiles. I did not add any salt called for. All we could taste was the ground cloves, yuck. I will try this one again with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This was so tasty. My whole family enjoyed it including my 2 year old who normally doesn't like soup. I substituted low fat cream for the evaporated cream since i made it while traveling in Switzerland and i couldnt find it. I'll have to make double next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriegal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Kilauea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I liked this easy-to-make soup. I used FF half and half because it's what I had, but I just couldn't bring myself to add the cloves. It just seemed too weird. 2 tsp. salt is way too much. Start with 1 tsp. and go from there. This easy-to-make soup definitely has potential with a good bit of tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is soooo good! I even make it in the microwave at work, after browning the onions at home. The cloves are what MAKES it!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marypiano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Choctaw, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
It can be dangerous to put hot liquid in a blender. I blend mine first and then put it on the stove to heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This soup was fantastic! However, next time I make it I will not add as much pepper because it was very spicy. Still a hit though and I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Delicious - I like the spice of the pepper. But I agree with some of the other reviews. Skip the cloves, a little too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States