Low Fat Buttermilk Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I wasn't a salad eater til I tried this recipe. I LOVE this. I was trying to imitate a local restaurant's recipe and this is VERY close! I now crave salad with this dressing-AND I do weight watchers and as I calculated a 2 Tablespoon serving is 1 pt. I used Dried herbs instead of the fresh and it was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This recipe is awesome! I didn't have fresh dill, so I used 1/4 of a dill pickle which worked well. I blended everything int he blender so it was very smooth... I think next time I might use more buttermilk and less mayo, since I like it more runny. Otherwise an excellent recipe! Better than the packets you get at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam15

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
This is the most amazing, fresh dressing I have ever tasted. It is just the right about of creamy. Nothing from a bottle can beat this. Thank you for sharing it! We'll never go back to store-bought again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Sooo good and simple. Perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susieq

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boiling Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2008
Good and tangy taste, but very thin. I thought there was too much buttermilk in this recipe and the buttermilk taste overpowered this dressing. I had to add 1/2 teaspoon of white sugar. This dressing would do nicely on a salad, but would not use it to dip veggies in. I let this sit in fridge overnight before using to enhance flavors. Next time I will use less buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Not the best ranch dressing I have made. Just OK. Too thick; I should of thinned it out like some others mentioned. If you are looking for restaurant style ranch, this is not it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is a great base for all kinds of dressings you can change it by adding blue cheese, parm cheese, horse radish, dill pickle cubes the list is endless. Thanks for a great base dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This is really good. I added just a little basil. Way better than my regular recipe. And, it makes a lot, too! Use fresh spices. You'll be amazed at the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Excellent recipe! I make it exactly as stated; although, I have substituted dried dill and parsley for the fresh and it still tastes great! You will have to reduce the amount of dried herbs though. Even my teenage son loves this dressing and prefers it to the higher fat store bought dressings. For those on weight watchers, only 1 point per serving and this tastes SO much better than store bought low fat ranch dressings. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
I had some leftover buttermilk, so searched allrecipes for "something" to make with it. My kids and I are salad lovers, so found this and thought, why not? I did add one additional ingredient; about 1/4 tsp. of granulated chicken bouillon. WOW! It added that one little something the dressing was lacking!! So glad I made this because I don't think I will ever buy salad dressing again!Thanks for another hit allrecipes :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States