Low Fat Buttermilk Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
This is so good! I've tried so many low-fat dressing recipes before that were runny and bland. This makes a hearty, thick stay-on-the-lettuce dressing that kicks butt! This has an amazing flavor, but I will cut back on the salt when I make it again. I think 1/2 teaspoon would be sufficient. Other than that, I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
After making this, I don't see myself buying the pre-made stuff anymore - with all the preservatives and sugar they add. This is ultra creamy and delicious. I only used the dried herbs, since that was all I had. My only complaint was that it seemed like it was missing something -- I figured out that it was a little tang. I suggest adding a tablespoon or two of vinegar (to taste). That was the only missing ingredient. It really increases the complexity and flavor of the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is an just an excellent dressing. Change it up if you like to suit your tastes, but in my view it's simply perfect just as written. I did use low-fat buttermilk and mayonnaise, but full fat sour cream. Used fresh parsley and fresh chives, but dried dill. I used this for a basic, tossed salad. Hubs and I thoroughly enjoyed this dressing and it takes a lot to please me, since I grew up strictly adhering to and preferring a simple vinegar and oil dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
make only half; very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This dressing is delicious! I substituted fat free plain yogurt for the sour cream. I also left out the dill and added paprika and fresh rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This is awesome! Its the closest to store bought ranch dressing. I did cut the buttermilk down to 1 cup after reading a review and I too have to agree that I like it better with just 1 cup of buttermilk. Will most definately use this recipe for all my future ranch dressing needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This has always come out thick, like a dip. When I want to use it as a salad dressing, I thin it out with low fat buttermilk- wonderful!!!! It's almost like our favorite bbq restaurant's dressing and we all love that one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I used Greek low fat yogurt instead of sour cream, and Smart Balance mayo. I LOVE this salad dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
We really liked this. The fresh herbs really make this taste rich and not low fat at all. Will make this often and try some other uses as well. Used it on our salad tonight. Thanks JPSMOMMIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This is amazing!!! It sure doesn't taste low fat!! I make this all the time now, we rarely buy dressing anymore. I use dried herbs and hellmans olive oil mayo. Tried it once with fresh herbs and I like it much better with dried. I also use dried minced onion as well. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States