Low Fat Buttermilk Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Delicious!! I made this with 1 cup of buttermilk, and 1/2 tsp of salt (as recommended in the comments), and this is perfect. I imagine it'll only get better after sitting in the fridge for a bit, but even just-made, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This dressing turn out better than I anticipated! I used low fat buttermilk, low fat (light) daisy sour cream but I scaled back on regular mayonnaise (used 1/4 cup). I used fresh herbs (chives, dill and parsely), fresh chopped garlic, fresh ground black pepper, a sprinkle of rock salt and let it sit overnight in the refrigerator. It tasted awesome. Not that the dressing needed anything else but because I like a little sweetness, I added a teeny pinch of a granulated sugar which, to me, made the taste even better. I like that this dressing was essentially easy to put together and I can add more or less of the buttermilk dressing to thicken it up or thin it out. Being able to use fresh herbs is a plus for me, and more importantly, it is low fat versus the regular ranch dressing. Even BETTER? I don't have to BUY ranch dressing anymore! I can use this as a dip, dressing, marinade, etc. this is a keeper in my recipe box!! Thank you JPSMOMMIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I added about 3 cloves of raw garlic and about 2 tablespoons of vinegar. That made this perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
OMG!!!!!!!! This was so good. I will never go back to store bought dressing and this tastes like the kind that they serve in fancy restuarants. I even made a double batch and had some left over that I will take to my mom's. She likes french dressing on her salad BUT she likes Ranch on her veggies. Too awesome, thanks so much for the recipe! I did not have fresh herbs so used dried ones and it was still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lamar, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
The dill is overpowering and the consistency of the dressing is very thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I used a very simplified version of this recipe - just the buttermilk and mayonnaise as a base, then added fresh pesto I had made. It was wonderful! A little on the thick side for salad dressing, so I may thin it down with more buttermilk. Even before I added the pesto, it had a great basic buttermilk ranch taste. I would definitely try it again with the seasonings indicated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is a tasty low-cal version--I might reduce the salt a little next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Awesome! This has a nice fresh flavor. I forgot to buy dill so I just added extra chives and parsley to make up for it. Wouldn't change a thing! About a million times better than the whipped oil and corn syrup concoctions calling themselves ranch at the grocery store. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This is an excellent salad dressing recipe. My husband really enjoyed it and its consistency is great for dipping. I followed the recipe as is and will be using it again but will add my tastefully simple bacon bacon and garlic garlic in place of the garlic and onion powders for my version of bacon ranch dressing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ayeshatb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Came out pretty thin, which is how I like my dressing, but not very good for diping. I think it tastes too much like dill (which will make it great for a cucumber salad), overall I'll make it again btu will adjust the ingredients to get a more balanced flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States