Low Fat Buttermilk Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Four stars for the original recipe. Good dressing as is. I have since made it a minimum of 10 times, each time tweaking a little here and a little there to better suit my taste buds. I now use 1 cup buttermilk, 1/2 cup regular sour cream, and half cup light mayo. I cut back on the salt, halved the onion powder, left out the chives and used 1/2 tsp. dried dill weed. I also added 1/4 tsp. Worcestershire sauce for depth, a pinch of sugar, and a tbsp. of grated parmesan cheese. When I'm wanting a thinner consistency, I will add 1/4 cup milk. This is so incredibly good that I will never buy bottled ranch again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matt and Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Outstanding! I have made this twice, using dried herbs both times and it was delicious! I am taking another reviewer's recommendation and keeping a jar of the premixed herbs in the cabinet. What a great flavor combination! I am thinking of mixing it in with bread crumbs and breading some chicken tenders. Thanks for sharing, jpsmommie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This was excellent. Just like my grandma made for her restaurant that I have missed for years. Bottled is nothing compared to this. I didn't use low fat anything (except for the buttermilk)...I used 1 tsp. dried dill and 2 tsp. dried parsley since I didn't have fresh on hand. Just wonderful and loved by all who tried it. I will make my own from now on instead of purchasing bottled. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Thought it was a little thin and did not like the dill in this recipe (though i love dill). I liked it but felt it needed tweaking - great base recipe though! I made a second time adding about a tsp of better than bouillon (chicken flavored, organic) and more chives and about 1 cup mayo (instead of the 2/3 cup recipe called for), as well as doubled chives and added 1 tbsp finely choped fresh green onion (the white portion), and put it all in the food processor and buzzed away. It came out GREAT. We all have our different tastes, so this doesn't imply the recipe wasn't good, it is good, but needed tweaking for what i was specifically looking for in a ranch dressing. And the mayo I'm using is Lemonaise light and it is AMAZING mayo! Oops...almost forgot, The second time I used plain lowfat Kefir instead of buttermilk for added health benefit. :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenAlcone
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Didn't change anything. Tastes AMAZING! Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Everyone really enjoyed this. I didn't have fresh herbs so I used dried (and cut the amounts in half). I only used 1 cup of buttermilk and I still would have preferred it be thicker. I also cut the salt in half as reducing salt was the driving force for making my own. With that this recipe has only 1% of the RDA for sodium vs. 11% in the popular bottled brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I did not have low fat ingredients, it was a big hit with the regular buttermilk,mayonnaise and sour cream. First time I ever ran out of salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Made it vegan by subbing hemp milk, Vegenaise and Tofutti sour cream. The spices and herbs were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
The dressing tastes good except the garlic powder is too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States