Low Fat Buttermilk Ranch Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Thought it was a little thin and did not like the dill in this recipe (though i love dill). I liked it but felt it needed tweaking - great base recipe though! I made a second time adding about a tsp of better than bouillon (chicken flavored, organic) and more chives and about 1 cup mayo (instead of the 2/3 cup recipe called for), as well as doubled chives and added 1 tbsp finely choped fresh green onion (the white portion), and put it all in the food processor and buzzed away. It came out GREAT. We all have our different tastes, so this doesn't imply the recipe wasn't good, it is good, but needed tweaking for what i was specifically looking for in a ranch dressing. And the mayo I'm using is Lemonaise light and it is AMAZING mayo! Oops...almost forgot, The second time I used plain lowfat Kefir instead of buttermilk for added health benefit. :) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenAlcone
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Didn't change anything. Tastes AMAZING! Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
Everyone really enjoyed this. I didn't have fresh herbs so I used dried (and cut the amounts in half). I only used 1 cup of buttermilk and I still would have preferred it be thicker. I also cut the salt in half as reducing salt was the driving force for making my own. With that this recipe has only 1% of the RDA for sodium vs. 11% in the popular bottled brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scotch Plains, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I did not have low fat ingredients, it was a big hit with the regular buttermilk,mayonnaise and sour cream. First time I ever ran out of salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Made it vegan by subbing hemp milk, Vegenaise and Tofutti sour cream. The spices and herbs were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
The dressing tastes good except the garlic powder is too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This is great! As my roommate said, "It has the flavor of ranch without the fat of ranch". Beware, it tastes really fresh!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I even used a bit less than recommended and all I can taste is salt. Perhaps a quarter teaspoon would be ok next time. I'm truly disappointed because we are watching salt content and even using less than the recipe calls for produced terrible results. The rest of the recipe is good, but something like an excessive amount of salt takes it down a few stars for me since I have a batch of dressing that I can't even eat without endangering my health.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I made this using equal portions of mayo, sour cream, and buttermilk. It would have been way too runny for our tastes otherwise. I cut the recipe in half and used dried dill and parsley but left everything else the same. I will make this again because I know my husband will want it from time to time! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Excellent...perfect consistency. I added just a hint of splenda to counteract a little bit of the "twang" from the buttermilk...but otherwise made as recipe states. 7/11/13
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Ranch Dressing

See how to make America’s favorite creamy salad dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Ranch Dressing II

This dressing is tangy with flavors of herbs. Mmm!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States