Low-Fat Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was good and comforting. I doubled the recipe and it fed 5 adults. I added 4 cloves of garlic, an extra 1/2 cup of broccoli, and a teaspoon each of parsley, basil and oregano. everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I doubled the recipe. Pretty good, but definitely needed some garlic and oregano, and some other spices. I made it with 1% milk and flour instead of cornstarch (double amount called for) and it turned out just fine. Also added some spinach and that was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elephantears

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I really like this recipe. I added TONS of seasoning to it however, salt, garlic powder, onion powder, lots of pepper. Anyway, I found that it tasted MUCH better the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is SO GOOD. I added minced garlic, thyme and some crushed red pepper flakes to onion. I doubled the recipe, but only had one can of evaporated milk so I subsituted with skim milk. Just as delicous! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meteepe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
With a few added ingredients this is a really simple delicious soup. I added a few fresh mushrooms and thinly sliced celery to the broccoli and seasoned the soup with oregano and thyme plus lots and lots of pureed garlic and cracked pepper. Way better than any store bought soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This recipe is a great way to use up old frozen broccoli that has freezer burn. I added lots of ground black pepper, 4 cloves of garlic, a palmful of basil, and about 1/4 cup of grated parmesan cheese -- and it it delicious! Also, I used skim milk instead of the evaporated milk/cornstarch combo, just enough until the texture looked right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
So good. I ended blending a lot more than half the soup, added minced garlic, salt and pepper as well as thickening it up a lot more to my own personal preference. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
boring....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I think the onion was a dominating flavor. In the future, I'd reduce the onion. Otherwise, a wonderful and filling lowfat soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was a great soup. I added garlic, oregano, thyme, salt, and pepper. I didn't have any cornstarch so I used flour. It didn't turn out very thick, but it was delicious nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States