Low-Fat Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I wanted to judge the recipe without major modifications so I only seasoned with salt & pepper. The resulting soup paired with a sandwich was a nice, light dinner for a dreary summer day. This is a fine base recipe that could easily be modified into something more exciting. UPDATE: My toddler loves this soup! I add 1 cup cooked quinoa to make it easier for her to handle without making a mess. 1 batch is enough for a full week of lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This was a perfect low-fat soup. I'm on Weight Watchers and it comes in at 2 PointsPlus per serving. I enjoyed 2 servings for my lunch with no guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was delicious! I added almost twice the amount of broth (24 ounces) and half the amount of evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
not bad for lowfat! and easy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was delicious with a little salt & pepper seasoning to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
I used this as a base for using up broccoli, a couple handsfull of spinach, 2T jarred garlic. As I did not have evaporated milk, I used skim. The cornstarch thickened it all very well. I also blended the whole amount, not just half. Salt and fresh ground pepper rounded it out and it has a light, refreshing taste that I bet will be even better tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Nice soup. Very easy to make too. I doubled the recipe but probably should have tripled it because we were all looking for seconds. I added some garlic, pepper and a pinch of salt. I also had half a bag of shredded white american cheese that I needed to use up and threw in there. I know that it made it not so low fat but it sure made it taste good. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I doubled this recipe. I used fresh organic broccoli and I did add a good amount of fresh minced garlic as well as a pinch of salt and a little fresh ground pepper. This did need more broth than what was asked for, I ended up using one full 32 ounce carton of organic chicken broth to cover all four cups of broccoli (doubled recipe), the onion and garlic. Cutting back on the milk by a little less than half made using the cornstarch unnecessary. I needed something quick that I can grab and "drink" when I get a craving--this was not only quick to make but it tasted wonderful and I didn't feel the need to eat something laden with sugar or fatty carbs. VERY easy to portion out into microwavable containers. I'll be making this soup a lot in the next few weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Excellent base for a 'healthier' cream of broccoli soup. I used 1% milk in place of evaporated and omitted the onion. BUT, I did add a few sprigs of FRESH Thyme, a pinch of dried basil, 1/2 tsp dried oregano and about an 1/8th tsp of nutmeg...DEE-Lish! You need the herbs to help cut the blandness of this soup, otherwise, you may as well make it with full-fat cream and add the 10lbs of cheese :) Thanks for supplying a good base to start from Kay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This was good and comforting. I doubled the recipe and it fed 5 adults. I added 4 cloves of garlic, an extra 1/2 cup of broccoli, and a teaspoon each of parsley, basil and oregano. everyone liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States