Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
These muffins have become my breakfast staple. I have 3 every day for breakfast, and at about 100 calories each, are an awesome healthy breakfast. Plus they go great with coffee. And the recipe lends itself well to playing around with ingredients. I now use 100% whole wheat flour instead of half whole wheat and half AP flour. And I dropped the brown sugar down to 1/2 cup, which to me is a perfect sweetness. And I add 1 tsp of cinnamon. Plus I sometimes add 2 TBL of flax seed or wheat germ, depending on how I feel. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I really like these muffins! I used oat bran (Bob's Red Mill) instead of wheat bran, and I used white whole wheat flour instead of regular whole wheat. I didn't sub out the all-purpose flour though. I got 17 2inch muffins at 80 calories each and 3 grams of fiber. Next time I plan to add a little cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Big hit with the family. Loved the boost of fiber that is hidden well in this super moist muffin. No fat added, just the right amount of sweetness and burst of blueberry flavor. My husband's golf buddies said I could bake a snack for them anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
these turned out really good! I followed the directions except subbed greek yogurt for the applesauce and they muffins are really good. I got 12 big muffins out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I've made these about a dozen times now and my whole family loves them. I make them as mini-muffins and just shave down the baking time. I've made them with either fresh blueberries or thawed frozen blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
These were really moist and great texture. I went with the suggested substitution of banana, honey and all w.w flour. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon. Next time I think I will try them with almond extract rather than vanilla and maybe a little nutmeg. Definitely will make again. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I am having the same problem with rawness in the middle. Is that from using fresh blueberries instead of frozen or dried? The outside seems yummy, though. I am leaving them in for a little longer to see if that will help. Any suggestions about the squishy middle? This doesn't usually happen when I bake muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Moist, chewy. Just the right amount of sweet. No substitutions but I made 16 muffins instead of 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
WOW!!!! I just made these muffins and they came out great!! I didn't do anything extra except added a little bit more vanilla extract. I'm definitely going to be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 744) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States